MobileMe keeps harassing me!!!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by CarboysDesire, May 6, 2010.

  1. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I signed up for MobilMe when I received my iPad last Friday from Apple. I decided quickly that I did not want it so I canceled it after a couple of days, but not before I set it up to work with my iPhone and my iPad.

    I removed the MobilMe account from both devices and my iPad is fine, but on my iPhone EVERY time I make a change to a contact or add a new one I get a message that "MobilMe Sync Failed - The password for the MobilMe user "xxxxx" is incorrect."

    AAAHHH!

    How do I make it stop?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Delete the account entirely from the Mail app settings.
     
  3. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3

    I think I did that.

    I went to Settings - Mail, Contacts, Calendars and the only account listed is my Gmail account. The Mobilme account is not there. But I still keep getting the errors.


    I thought I was posting this in the iPhone forum but since it's here I'll leave it, but if a mod wants to move it I am sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    The inquiry is fine here. As per your problem, I have no idea what might be the problem.
     
  5. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #5
    If worst comes to the worst, do a software restore, set up as new.
     
  6. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    OK, thanks. I'll contact support before I resort to that. Do you think I should contact iPhone support or MobilMe support?
     
  7. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #7
    iPhone support :)
     
  8. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    iPhone support.
     
  9. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #9
    iPhone email settings are transferred to your device via iTunes. Once you sync with your email settings set up correctly on your desktop, your iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad will stop bugging you for mobile me login information. Changing it in "settings" on your device alone, when it was set up to use MobileMe the last time you sync'd will probably not be enough to get it to "stick".
     
  10. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #10
    Did you turn off the sync options in the mobileme acct on your phone before you deleted it?

    In iTunes rather then restore I'd just make sure that the mobileme checkbox is unselected for syncing and also do the replace contacts on phone option in itunes. which will just take your contacts from your computer. unless whats on your computer doesn't match whats on your phone shouldn't be an issue and takes a couple seconds only.
     
  11. re2st macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #11
    There's a "MobileMe" section in System Preferences on your mac. Remove the credentials from there and/or disable the sync.
     
  12. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #12
    I was gonna mention that, but the OP didn't say if his main computer is a mac. Still, turning off the MobileMe account in system preferences doesn't do it. You would have to remove the account in Mail and then the next time you sync, you would have to enable "mail sync" which really transfers your account settings to your iThing, not any actual mail.
     
  13. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #13
    Thanks for the input. I am on a PC

    iPhone support told me to reset. :rolleyes:

    I assured him I tried that. Then he had me turn off MobilMe in the PC's MobilMe Control Panel.

    Then he told me to contact MobilMe.

    MobilMe had me verify everything. Then she said to contact iPhone support. :rolleyes:

    They are passing me around.
     
  14. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #14
    Software reset -> setup as new iPad. You're going to lose all of your stuff (saved settings, app data etc.), but it will save you time.
     
  15. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #15
    I've never restored before.


    How will I get my data back (songs, pics, contacts, etc) and if it's from a back-up wouldn't it recreate my problem too?
     
  16. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #16

    It's not the iPad that has the problem, it's the iPhone. But I guess your point is the same, and taken.

    MobilMe Support thinks it's a problem in the iPhone's software and also said, at the end of our chat, to restore. I am surprised the iPhone's software is wrong but the brand new iPad's isn't, but whatever.

    I don't change my contacts often enough to want to do this right away. I may wait cuz putting all my stuff back on will take more time than I have today. And I can deal with a stupid message when/if I do change or add a contact.

    This is tabled for now.

    But thanks for your replies!
     
  17. jfyrfytr25 macrumors 6502a

    jfyrfytr25

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #17
    connect your phone and sync, then click the button that says restore, Sit and wait. it will take about 10 min after itunes downloads the firmware.

    there is a bug in the Mac OS where you have access to your mobile me settings as long as you have a mobile me account. one of the settings in there is to show the sync status in the top bar. However, if you check that and then cancel your mobile me and sign out, you will have the status icon in the bar forever. no way to get back to it without having an active account.

    im thinking the same kinda thing is going on here.
     
  18. Aduntu macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #18
    Now you're just looking for problems that aren't really there. :p
     
  19. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #19
    In Settings->Mail make sure Fetch New Data is no longer set to Push.
     
  20. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #20
    just restore and resync i dont see the big deal:rolleyes:
     
  21. msavwah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Oahu
    #21
    Did you resync all of your data checking the boxes in iTunes for mail, contacts, calendars, etc?
    In other words copy the data from your pc so the iPhone knows that data should come from an iTunes sync and not over the air.

    I'm assuming you had to do this just checkin though.
     
  22. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #22

    I did not...last thing I did not try so I will now.


    OH, and I know Restore and Resync isn't hard in practice but time wise I just don't have time for all that syncing today--I have a 32-gig and it's 4 gigs shy of being full. The picture optimizing takes foooooreeeeeeeeveeeeeeerrrrrrr.
     
  23. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #23


    OK, I just did it. And now I have NO contacts at all. LOL!

    ZERO!

    But, I am STILL getting the MobilMe error message. :rolleyes:


    Restoring looks to be my last resort.

    I know someone in here said this early on followed by at least one other, so thank you all, and you were right.
     
  24. CarboysDesire thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #24
    I've decided to do the restore now.

    I clicked restore and it wants to know if I want to back-up the settings on my iPhone before the restore.


    Should I?


    Anyone?



    **** it...I'm saying YES. If that was wrong, I'll restore again and say NO.
     
  25. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #25
    I would of said no. To lose all traces of MobileMe settings. But alas, try it and see what happens. If it doesn't work then do it as a new phone.
     

Share This Page