Mojave saying firmware update required but...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by uimike, Nov 2, 2018.

  1. uimike macrumors newbie

    uimike

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #1
    hi all - is this expected? I’m on a 4.1 > 5.1 cMP 2009, High Sierra, metal-compatible card. Now I’m afraid to install Mojave... having already gone through the process of updating firmware - successfully I am sure. what gives?
     
  2. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
    It's a two step process. Read here MP5,1: What you have to do to upgrade to Mojave.

    First to MP5,1.0089.B00 with 10.13.6, then 138.0.0.0.0 with 10.14.0.

    If you are installing 10.14.1 from the Mac App Store full installer, it have another firmware upgrade: 140.0.0.0.0 - then it's a three step. ;)
     
  3. uimike thread starter macrumors newbie

    uimike

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Yikes - obrigado cumpadre! but I’m also just reading about font rendering issues :-( too bad, I upgraded to Mojave at work on a MBP retina and the UI is gorgeous...
    Thanks Alex!
     
  4. uimike thread starter macrumors newbie

    uimike

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Hm, I did finally manage to install Mojave, glorious visuals - but incredibly sluggish and laggy in my system. Installed it from the 6 GB full install, etc, etc, all to the dot. I need to figure out what is wrong. A colleague suggested maybe Kaspersky? Anyways, I reverted to HS, which truly flies... But interestingly, now my BootRom is 140... does that mean I can boot from an NVMe in High Sierra?
     
  5. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    Yes.
     
  6. uimike thread starter macrumors newbie

    uimike

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Location:
    California
  7. misanthrophy macrumors regular

    misanthrophy

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    #7
    Are you using a NVIDIA graphic card, which currently does not have any driver support on mojave? That could explain the slow system.
     
  8. uimike thread starter macrumors newbie

    uimike

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Ah - mis, yes! Now what is interesting - mine is a GeForce 640 (or 645) pulled from a Window machine, and flashed my macvidcards. He says they don't need updated drivers for compatibility with Mojave (and says these are the cheapest, least powerful metal cards to do so) - but Nvidia does give me a dialog saying I need a CUDA update (which the dialog says it is not available - I read the whole long and sorry Apple vs Nvidia thing :-(

    So it may still be the card, uh. Interestingly, what lags most is Safari. But all else lags as well.
     

Share This Page

7 November 2, 2018