MP5,1: What you have to do to upgrade to Mojave

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Sep 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. tsialex, Sep 24, 2018
    Last edited by tsialex: Oct 20, 2018 at 4:48 AM

    tsialex macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1
    Mojave only will install if you have upgraded your BootROM and your Mac Pro have a Metal capable GPU. If you are trying to install Mojave on a Mac Pro 5,1 (2009 updated to 5,1 firmware, 2010 and 2012), you have first to upgrade your BootROM to version MP51.0089.B00 and to High Sierra 10.13.6, then you can install a Metal capable GPU and install Mojave.

    You can read the Apple Support article here: Install macOS 10.14 Mojave on Mac Pro (Mid 2010) and Mac Pro (Mid 2012).

    Remember: Apple Mojave recommend RX-560/580 cards do not have Mac EFI, so you need to install your original EFI GPU to upgrade your BootROM to MP51.0089.B00 using the Mac App Store 10.13.6 full installer. After that, Mojave installer can upgrade your firmware without the need of a Mac EFI GPU and requires that you only have Metal supported cards installed on your Mac Pro.

    The Apple third-party graphics cards list identifies specific cards that are compatible:
    • MSI Gaming Radeon RX 560 128-bit 4GB GDRR5
    • SAPPHIRE Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB GDDR5
    • SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7950 Mac Edition
    • NVIDIA Quadro K5000 for Mac
    • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 Mac Edition
    The three cards listed in bold above have Mac EFI.
    The list also identifies cards that might be compatible, none of which have Mac EFI:
    • AMD Radeon RX 560
    • AMD Radeon RX 570
    • AMD Radeon RX 580
    • AMD Radeon Pro WX 7100
    • AMD Radeon RX Vega 56
    • AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
    • AMD Radeon Pro WX 9100
    • AMD Radeon Frontier Edition
    If you have a earlier than MP51.0089.B00 BootROM version, these are the steps to upgrade your BootROM to have Mojave support:

    1. Disconnect any 4K or DP1.2 display. You can't update to MP51.0089.B00 with a 4K/DP1.2 screen connected to your Mac EFI card. It's a old bug that Apple corrected with MP6,1 and "forgot" to correct with the MP5,1. MP5,1 efiflasher don't support 4K screens or DP1.2, you can reconnect after you update your BootROM.
    2. Disable FileVault2 if enabled as FV2 isn't supported on Mac Pro 5,1 with Mojave.
    3. Install a Mac EFI64 card. Any original Apple card from 2008 to 2012 (HD 2600XT, 8800GT, Quadro FX 5600, GT120, HD 4870/5770/5870) plus the Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition, eVGA GTX 680 Mac Edition, NVIDIA Quadro 4000/K5000 or self-flashed/MVC flashed cards.
    4. Download the full Mac App Store Installer for 10.13.6 (even if you already are on 10.13.6) Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 13.55.05.png
    5. Open the installer, do the firmware upgrade as asked.
    6. After the firmware upgrade, 10.13.6 installer will open again, you can close it.
    7. Now check if your Mac Pro BootROM is MP51.0089.B00, if yes you can shutdown and install your Metal capable GPU (any AMD equal or newer than HD 7xxx, Nvidia GTX 680 Mac Edition, Quadro K5000 and other Nvidia Kepler cards/newer). [If you have a Nvidia card that need the web driver, Maxwell and Pascal ones, wait for Nvidia release it for Mojave]
    8. Download the full Mac App Store installer for Mojave.
    9. Open the installer, do the firmware upgrade as asked.
    10. After the reboot, open System Information and check if you have BootROM 138.0.0.0.0, if yes, you can do a createinstallmedia USB clean install (read NVIDIA GTX 680 note) or upgrade your previous High Sierra install.
    Note, some people are getting black screens with Mojave when using RX-560/580 GPUs, if you are having it, do a clean install or debug your kexts, seems a problem with incompatible kexts (probably something related with AirDisplay).

    NVIDIA GTX 680 note:

    If you have a NVIDIA GTX 680 Mac Edition card, or GTX 680 flashed with the Mac Edition firmware, you can't do a USB clean install with it at the moment. The USB installer don't detect that GTX 680 is a Metal supported card and don't continue the install, it's a bug.

    To do a clean install, do from macOS with two drives - just select your empty one when doing the install.
     
  2. Socket macrumors regular

    Socket

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #2
    Thank you! What are the correct steps to upgrade with a RX580?
     
  3. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    Exactly the same.
     
  4. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Hey Alexandre, do you (or anyone else) know if you can skip the 10.13.6 installation requirement if you at least have the 0089 firmware and maybe manually tweak your SystemVersion.plist file to show 10.13.6 instead of an earlier system? Just wondering for those that might want to go straight from Sierra or ElCap without the intermediate step, for example.
     
  5. bsbeamer macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #5
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898

    Update to macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
    First, use the Mac App Store to update your operating system to macOS High Sierra 10.13.6. Don't upgrade your Mac Pro (Mid 2010) or Mac Pro (Mid 2012) to macOS Mojave directly from macOS versions prior to 10.13.6.
     
  6. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Thanks for that. I have a feeling tho, that has more to do with the progression of firmware updates from pre-0089 to 0089 to 138.0.0.0. Since you only get 0089 with the full 10.13.6 installer, I’d guess that’s why they say not to go from an earlier version. The OS installer shouldn’t really care what’s on the disk already, since you might need to install on a blank drive, and that usually works without requiring a prior version.
     
  7. zemaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #7
    this should be made sticky to save people lots of headaches.
     
  8. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    Don't do this, you will risk loosing your data. Backup your files, upgrade your firmware and then do a clean install.
     
  9. Socket macrumors regular

    Socket

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #9
    Ok tks
    Now I've 0089 installed yet on my High Sierra 10.13.6
    I can make the firmware upgrade for Mojave + Installation Mojave with only the rx580? I will see the screens correctly? Or it wil be all black in my monitor?
     
  10. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #10
    It’ll be black while the firmware update occurs, but it’ll still work, then eventually restart you to where you can see the screen again.
     
  11. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #11
    APFS conversion. If you are installing on a blank drive, upgrade your firmware and do a clean install via createinstallmedia pendrive or startosinstall.
     
  12. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #12
    Notice this part at the end (of the article linked by bsbeamer)?

    Guess we aren’t gonna get a fix for the lack of boot screen anytime soon...
     
  13. bsbeamer macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #13
    No, there will be no fixes for boot screens or FileVault. These MacPro machines will basically operate like they have for non-EFI NVIDIA users that were utilizing NVIDIA Web Drivers in 10.13.6 and previous.

    The exception being the EVGA/NVIDIA GTX 680 Mac Edition no longer works with FileVault in Mojave. All other Metal compatible EFI GPUs are also impacted by this according to the notes for MP5,1: "You also need to turn off FileVault." (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898)
     
  14. donvito4ever macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    #14
    At this moment my MP have the last Beta of Mojave, but BootRom MP51.0085.B00... I need to do all the steps of the OP??
     
  15. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #15
    Download the Full Mojave installer and upgrade your BootROM.
     
  16. bsbeamer macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #16
    Do you have a bootable clone of 10.13.X and an EFI GPU?

    If so, install the EFI GPU and boot into 10.13.X. Download the latest High Sierra installer (10.13.6) with the EFI GPU installed. Follow the screen prompts for firmware update.

    If not, I'd suggest trying to download the latest High Sierra installer from the App Store when booting into Mojave Beta with an EFI GPU installed. This may (or may not) prompt for firmware update to MP51.0089.B00. Unsure if it would be recognized appropriately.

    Your situation is unique. Most who installed Mojave betas were already on 138.0.0.0.0. If the above do not work, you MAY need to install a fresh copy of High Sierra on a blank drive for the firmware update to be recognized.
     
  17. bjar, Sep 24, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2018

    bjar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Sugar land, tx
    #17
    Now running mojave! Only thing not working is Bluetooth. I had upgraded my Bluetooth and ran the continuity activation tool in high Sierra, or maybe Sierra, some time ago. So I am assuming it has something to do with that. Will research later. Just happy to be running mojave.

    Edit-SMC reset fixed Bluetooth.
     
  18. xlys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    #18
    my boot rom is MP51.0085.B00 and i m using mojave beta 9 since i have the RX460 4Gb , and i am getting an error , what should i do now ? please help
     
  19. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    #19
    I did the 10.13.6 installer but my firmware is MP51.0085.B00

    Mac Pro 5,1 dual 6-core Xeon, 2.66 GHz, 128 GB RAM, Fusion drive (128 GB SSD + 2 TB HD).
     
  20. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #20
    If you shows us what error is, maybe we can help…
     
  21. xlys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    #21
    this is the error
     

    Attached Files:

  22. tsialex, Sep 24, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #22
    Did you installed a EFI GPU? You need a EFI one to update to MP51.0089.B00

    Downloaded the full Mac App Store installer, not the update one? Just update from a previous HighSierra version will not upgrade your firmware.

    Did you put your Mac Pro on Firmware Programming Mode correctly?

    --- Post Merged, Sep 24, 2018 ---
    FileVault is disabled? Did you have other videocards installed? RX-460 is not on the Apple list of supported cards and some here had problems with RX-480 too.
     
  23. Maxx1987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    #23
    Hi,

    I recently got a Mac Pro 5,1 (2010) and bought a Club 3D AMD Radeon R9 280X RoyalQueen graphics card.
    I don't need much graphics power, but I do want to upgrade to Mojave.
    The card works fine under High Sierra (10.13.6) and when I launch the Mojave installer it also says the firmware needs to be upgraded. But when I shutdown and boot up the Mac Pro (as told by the Mojave installer) it doesn't beep (what normally happens when a firmware update is installed) and just shuts down and reboots again. I think this happens because the graphics card I bought isn't a flashed card and doesn't support boot screens.

    Can anybody help?
     
  24. xlys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    #24
    i never used file vault actually and i had the original 5770 but its not working anymore and i only have this 460.. and just can't pay for the new card because even rx560 coast atleast $480 in my home country.
     
  25. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #25
    Do as I say on the first post.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 24, 2018 ---
    I’ll PM you with instructions.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page