More Bootcamp Issues with 2012 MBA: HD4000 Memory Allocation?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by goinskiing, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. goinskiing macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #1
    [​IMG]

    2012 11"/i7/8/256 w/Windows 7 Ultimate x64

    It showing me 64MB as opposed to the 512MB expected as shown in OSX. It's likely related to the driver issues for the 2012 i7 machines with multiplier clock being wrong and turboboost disabled.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Have you installed the proper GFX drivers? Also, are you running Aero or not? I doesn't seem like it, but it does make a difference.
     
  3. goinskiing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #3
    I just have the "latest" bootcamp drivers installed and I turned off Window's Aero (for gaming boost I thought) and enabled Basic.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    What are your Window's Scores? Also, turn of Aero and retry CPU-Z.
     
  5. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    I'll check my system tonight. I have Aero enabled.
     
  6. goinskiing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #6
    With Aero enabled it still shows 64MB. Is there I multiplier I am unaware for shared VRAM?
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Try downloading Speccy. It will give a more accurate reading.
     
  8. goinskiing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #8
    Aero on and off...

    6.3
    7.2
    6.5
    6.5
    7.9

    ----------

    Speccy gives some weird stuff:

    Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
    Memory 4294965312 MB
    Memory type 2
    Driver version 8.15.10.2778
     
  9. wditters macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #9
    This is not a Macbook Air issue but potentially just a minor Intel driver issue. I am getting the exact same result on my Lenovo Thinkpad T430s with HD 4000.

    Additionally, since I am perfectly able to to drive 1x 1600x900 internal + 2x 1920x1200 external on my T430s I assume it's more a reporting issue than an actual driver problem. With only 64Mb graphics memory I would not have been able to drive 3 screens with the HD 4000.

    As far as I am concerned, the issue is more or less solved.
     
  10. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #10
    This. I don't think it is being displayed correcting. As long as everything is working the way it should, I wouldn't worry about it too much.
     
  11. hiasl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #11
    hi,

    it seems to me that this is more than just a "minor" driver issue. According to a few games I tried on my new 2012 MBA they only recognize 64MB of VRAM in their settings aswell.
    For example Pro Evolution Soccer 2012 gives me a hard time simply starting the game cause the settings tell me that the GFX card is simply to "weak" to play the game.

    I'm pretty sure that the HD 4000 could easily handle the game cause even my old early 2008 MBP with the 8600 GFX could be used to play the game with medium settings. I know that one was dedicated but still the HD 4000 should be more powerfull since it's from the year 2012!!! ;-)

    It's pretty annoying that I cannot play this game on my new MBA though an online research on the system requirements tells me that even the HD2000/3000 would be enough... :confused:

    Seems that I/we gotta wait for better drivers beeing provided by either Apple or Intel. :mad:

    just my 2 cents
    hiasl
     
  12. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #12
    it has to be intel then since someone else not on a mac said they are having issues with the hd4000
     
  13. hiasl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #13
    to be honest, finally I don't care who's fault it is, as long they fix it within a reasonable time... :mad:

    p.s.: but the drivers do come from apple (boot camp) don't they? ;)
     
  14. kyjaotkb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    Well, even if it is "intel's fault" I think Apple should start working on it as well... Because, well, in the end, they sold you the computer.

    Then again, it's a windows related issue - not sure Apple puts a high priority on it (although they should).
     
  15. wditters macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #15
    Just downloaded the latest INtel HD Graphics drivers 8.15.10.2761 and they show the same issue in CPU-Z. Anyone tried gaming with those yet?
     
  16. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #16
    Hi, Apple won't provide drivers for an Intel graphics card to run on Windows. It will have to be provided by Intel.

    Just my 2 cents.
     
  17. hiasl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #17
    on my boot camp win7 it tells me that the intel latest drivers I downloaded were older the the ones which are installed (boot camp)

    As I mentioned in my earlier post. I tried several games, none of them worked in a satifying kind of way... :mad:


    so why do I have to use the boot camp install then?
     
  18. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #18
    Indirectly, yes. They come to you from Apple and they are supplied by Intel. I see no reason why one cannot update the drivers themselves directly from Intel, when they are ready. I did that with the HD3000 in my Mini on Windows.
     
  19. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #19
    This is what Control Panel reports. I also ran GPU-Z and played an HD video. While I confirmed that the maximum GPU speed was 800MHz (meaning Turbo Boost wasn't on), it did use 100MB of memory. It was a CNet video, so I wasn't expecting it to use much. I don't have any Windows games so I couldn't check something that would use much more.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Blackened Apple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #20
    Drivers for proprietary Apple components. The other things can be directly updated from the respective manufacturers.
     
  21. SpyderBite macrumors 65816

    SpyderBite

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    Xanadu
    #21
    I'm not experiencing the same issue with Windows 7 64x Premium installed on bootcamp on a 2012 MBP 13". I didn't check though before I installed all the Windows Updates though.
     
  22. wditters macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #22
    Not 100% true. Apple provides a bootcamp installation package under Windows that makes sure that all components are 100% functioning at the end of a bootcamp install.

    This package contains a mixture of standard drivers (perhaps certified by Apple though) and proprietary drivers (drivers to interact with Apple hardware such as Magic Mouse without having to configure them again)

    After the bootcamp install is finished, you can expect everything to be recognized and work, but that does not guarantee that you have the latest drivers. I actually redid my bootcamp today with the W7 drivers being downloaded today, and still the June Intel drivers I found at Intel were newer than the bootcamp drivers.
     
  23. hiasl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #23
    would be interesting what info CPU-Z provides in your case! the 13" MBP has the HD 4000 aswell?
     
  24. goinskiing thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goinskiing

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Meridian, ID
    #24
    The reason I know this is an issue is because my 2011/13/i5/4/128 with the HD3000 handled games much better than my 2012 Ultimate 11". If there is an issue with the HD4000 it's tightly coupled with the i7 issues that are being seen as well. I'd like to see the same sort of stats for the HD4000 with someone on a 2012 i5 MBA for other comparisons ass it has been reported that the clock and turbo boost are working correctly.

    So the gaming performance is hindered (if true) by the HD4000 driver issues AND i7 issues of 1.9GHz Base and lack of turboboost.

    ----------

    Also, in that same vein, someone with a 2012 MBA i5/8GB RAM. The i5 does not have the multiplier and turboboost issue. This could help determine if they are a tightly coupled issue or separate issues.
     
  25. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #25


    I can tell from GPU-Z that the Turbo Boost appears to be partly disabled for the GPU, as well (it was maxing out at 800MHz).
     

Share This Page