Motherboard to PCIe sata power

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by eyeangle, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. eyeangle macrumors member

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    I'm looking to power a PCIe USB3.0 card without making the inside of my MacPro5,1 look hell ugly with heaps of cables.

    I'm thinking of getting this 4-port one:
    http://www.inateck.de/inateck-ktu3fr-4pa-4-port-usb-3-0-pci-e-express-card/

    or preferably this 5-port one if it works with the mac pro:
    http://www.inateck.de/inateck-ktu3fr-5o2u-usb-3-0-pci-express-card/

    They both need sata power so I need the right cable to power it from HDD bay 3 or 4.

    I need this kind cable if it exists, I just edited the picture to show you what I need:
    4PA-12.png

    The other sata power cable doesn't attach to the motherboard because they have these nodes on the side of the connector.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
  3. eyeangle, Mar 3, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014

    eyeangle thread starter macrumors member

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    I saw this but I need power for my USB3 devices. But I think that it only powers smaller devices like thumb drives etc. although I'm not 100% sure.

    I need to be able to power hard drive, keyboards, mice and charge my phone from it etc.
     
  4. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #4
    I have one for just about a week.
    Right now I have 2 x portable Lacie drives, 1 x 32gb thumb drive and a
    small MIDI keyboard powered from the card !

    As for charging a phone - Don't think so, front Mac USB2.0 port will do that.

    Otherwise it's perfect and works with a HUB and a Logitech Lazer mouse.

    Highly recommended :)
    Martin.
     
  5. eyeangle thread starter macrumors member

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Thanks Marty62,

    I contacted Inateck and found that both cards have a maximum 900 mA so I've decided to go with the cable free KT4004.

    But it begs the question, why on earth do they still sell the KTU3FR-4PA on their site if it's been completely superseded by the cable-free KT4004?

    Does it matter which PCIe slot I install it into, 2, 3, or 4?
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Any slot is fine but I would put it in 3 or 4 just so you won't be using up an x16 slot with a x4 card.
     
  7. shindom, Mar 4, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014

    shindom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    #7
    Anybody in the US know where to buy this KT4004 card ? I seem to only be able to find it in europe .. amazon.com only shows a link for the KTU3FR-4PA .. or is it a rebranding for the US market ??

    EDIT: Nevermind, it is out of stock at amazon US according to http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1501482&page=28

    but it looks like it is the best card to get for easy USB3. Can't wait !
     
  8. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #8
    Cool. I'm going to order that 5 port one. Thanks for the heads up. I haven't really followed the USB 3.0 thread lately.

    I wouldn't have mind if I had to run power to the older cards so the newer ones look more promising.
     
  9. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #9
    This worked for me to power additional SSD's

    I manipulated a Kingston SSD Drive Carrier 2,5" > 3,5" to power two additional SSD's. This will work also for PCIe-Cards.

    Look at the pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Robert Davies macrumors 6502

    Robert Davies

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    People's Republic of Wrexham
    #10
    Those pics definitely speak a thousand words - thanks for posting! :)
     
  11. m4v3r1ck, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    THE SOLUTION I was looking for, this will replace my power from dvd-bay and large SATA cable to 2nd SSD on Velocity Solo X2!!! :eek:

    This is what I'm going to do: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1675846
    And with this tweak I can close my lid again!

    Could you please link your power-cable, but I need a straight version because my Solo X2 is in slot#2 between two GPU's.

    Thanks for sharing!!! ;)
     
  12. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #12
    The power cable that feeds the DVD bay can easily be "tapped" to provide power to the USB drive. I stripped back a small section of the cables, identified the proper color, attached the new cable, added a dab of solder and taped it up.

    I used wrapped cable similar to this one on ebay, except I have two power connectors on the card end. A left over from a PC modular power supply.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    The Inateck card for Mac easily powers 4x 7200 RPM 1TB laptop drives without any additional power requirements. I've tested it pretty extensively and I can't find any negative characteristics to this card.
     
  14. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #14
    It is a normal SATA Power Y Splitter Cable, there are many variations:
    http://www.ebay.com/bhp/sata-y-splitter

    You have to fix the power cable with two wires to get a stable construction.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
    Thanks for your directions for the cable guys!!!
     

Share This Page