Motion 4 on my iMac question.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by cwazytech, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. cwazytech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    So I'm running Motion 4 on my iMac. It's the newest one out with a 3.06Ghz processor, ATI Radeon HD 4850, and 4gig DDR3 ram. I'm trying to compile a 30sec scene where my camera pans out on a photograph revealing a field of photos floating in space. However, it seems to really slow my Mac down and twice Motion quit on me. I knew it would seem slow but not "slow as a turtle" slow. I especially didn't expect it to quit on me. So my question is, Is this normal? Is there anything I could be doing to speed things up or is this the way it runs?
     
  2. Erendiox macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #2
    Your system should be able to run motion pretty nicely. What you're trying to accomplish is also not too complicated and shouldn't push the computer too hard. I don't understand why it would run slowly. Have you checked your internal drive space lately? Not enough free space will bog things down. Also launch activity monitor and make sure there aren't any other big apps running and sucking up ram and cpu cycles.
     
  3. Mr-Stabby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    #3
    Even on my top of the range Mac Pro with top line graphics card, Motion will ground to a halt and crash if you've got all the render options turned on, 'Motion Blur' especially. My advice is either turn down the render quality to normal and turn off Motion Blur for real-time previews, and if you want to look at it properly with all motion blur and full quality turned on, do a 'RAM Preview' first.
     
  4. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #4
    do you use an external drive?
    that will help speed things up, even a fw800 drive.
     
  5. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    My motion content is on an external, but I run the app from my internal drive.
     
  6. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Define not enough free space. I have about 290gigs free.
     
  7. Erendiox macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #7
    lol. You're fine in the space department. Not enough would be like below 10 gigs. :)
     
  8. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    Are any other apps open? FCP, soundtrack, etc?
     
  9. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    iTunes, Quicktime, Safari, and Mail.
     
  10. ClivePwned macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #10
    Run Motion on its own. restart your iMac and just load Motion.
    That and there are likely to be more bugs in 4 at this stage since its just come out.

    Your machine is fine.
     
  11. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    So I think I'm having some issues. I tried adding three thought bubbles to my video and when I got to the third my computer was once again moving slowly. Then when I sent the final product to Compressor to encode the video to Apple TV I tried setting chapter markers and the program really lagged.
     
  12. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #12
    how fresh is your install of FC?
    How fresh is your install of the OS?
    Maybe conflicting / old programs?

    did you have a previous version of motion to this one?
     

Share This Page