Move to Verizon with AT&T iPhone 7+

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fender4645, Feb 26, 2017.

  1. fender4645 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #1
    I've been an AT&T customer since the Cingular days but have been thinking about switching for a while. My father in-law works for Verizon which gives family members a hefty discount so we're thinking of switching to them and their unlimited plan. The problem is my wife got an AT&T iPhone 7+ in December (on the Apple installment plan) and I know that phone won't work on Verizon's CDMA network. Luckily I still have my 6S+ which, from what understand, should work fine.

    My question to you good folks is what are my options here for my wife's phone? Is there any kind of trade-in program for Verizon or Apple where they'll swap her phone with a Verizon-compatible one? Do I have to just sell it on the open market and pay off Apple? If the latter, is the phone locked at all?

    Thanks!
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Some discussion of this kind of thing at https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/switching-to-verizon-with-t-mobile-iphone-7.2034466/
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Same problem many people are having with AT&T iphones that want to go to verizon.
    Its a good deal and I think people should get grandfathered in soon before they put an end to that deal.
    If you're on the Apple installment plan they can help you out. Its a bit of a cumbersome process but they can help you out.
    You'll have to trade in the current AT&T i7, get credit back from all your payments and get a new plan for a verizon i7.
    They'll guide you and give you details.
     
  4. fender4645 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #4
    Thanks guys!!
     
  5. pjp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    #5
    Did that work (having Apple switch your device, if you're on the Apple installment plan)?
     
  6. CoriG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #6
    Yes - I did it and it was pretty easy. it took about 2 weeks before I got my past payments refunded back to me.
     
  7. fender4645 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #7
    So I ended up doing the switch (I'm the OP) and the folks at the Apple Store never said anything about getting past payments refunded. We bought the 7+ in the beginning of Janurary so we've made 3 payments on it. When I brought it in to the store, they told me that they would basically just end my current agreement and start a new one. Should I go back to the store??
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, you'd be giving up that money if you dont do anything so why not go back and correct their mistake.
     
  9. fender4645 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #9
    I'm not clear as to why you would get your payments back? Isn't that essentially the same as giving you a free phone for 2+ months? Also, I just noticed on my credit card (the one that's used for the monthly payments) I was charged $100 on the day I got the "new" iphone (last week). Anyone know what that's all about???
     
  10. CoriG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #10
    If you swapped out the phones.. I would start by calling CitizenOne Loan and asking them. If they do not know about the swap - you need to go to the store and have them redo it
    --- Post Merged, Mar 10, 2017 ---
    The reason you are getting $ back is because Apple screwed up and advertised that we could switch carriers at any point during the loan and because of the chip snafu, you cannot change carriers. The $100 might be taxes?!?
     
  11. erea macrumors newbie

    erea

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #11
    Can someone else confirm this? I am about to head to the Apple store to switch from att to verizon, but want to make sure they will swap it.
     
  12. LoliS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    #12
    Because you gave them back the phone. That phone can be refurbished and used as a warranty replacement device, they aren't losing any money.
     
  13. AttilaTheHun macrumors 6502a

    AttilaTheHun

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    iPhone 7+ had all the antennas CDMA too call Verizon they can use the iPhone also call Citizen one (thats the bank Apple made the agreement of the monthly payment , yes I am thinking to move to verizon too sick with the ATT policies
     
  14. Applejuiced, Mar 20, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2017

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    The AT&T and T mobile iPhone 7 and 7 Plus do not have a cdma baseband chip inside.
    They are GSM only so they will never work on Verizon, Sprint or any CDMA carrier ever.
    He needs to get a new iPhone 7 that has CDMA capabilities.
     
  15. thadoggfather macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #15
    Yeah they made it not fun this go round.

    Luckily not ever going big red so non issue with my intel gsm only radio but ..

    Good lesson to be more aware exactly what Im buying

    Then again my SE is a Samsung a9 not tsmc the supposed inferior processor type and it's been more than fine

    Won't give up these screens! Ive seen ugly
    Ones
     
  16. bbensten macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #16
    erea, did it work for you? I am going to try this same thing today with my ATT Iphone 7. I called Apple and they said there was nothing they could do. I have heard reports that going to the store works but I am skeptical. If it worked, can you tell me how you approached the rep at the Apple Store?
     
  17. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #17
    In theory it should at least be able to work As an LTE only device (various non-CDMA Android phones are able to use Verizon), but in practice it doesn't work. This seems to be largely because Apple doesn't allow the GSM version of the phone to load a Verizon carrier settings file (it will constantly prompt you that a new carrier settings file is available, but it never works).
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Correct.
    It would be nice to partially work but in reality it does not work at all :(
     

Share This Page