msn messenger display picture question.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mrgreeneyes, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. mrgreeneyes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #1
    hi,

    i am unable to choose a display picture of myself to put on msn.

    i get an error that says wrong file format.


    is there something hat im suppose to do?


    thanks,
     
  2. raquiros macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #2
    You can try saving the picture to your desktop and then dragging the picture to your display picture box on conversation window, or you can save it on your desktop, then go to your MSN Messenger, click on your display picture, browse it and select it...

    Let me know how it goes
     
  3. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #3
    nothing works, i still get the error message that tells me that the picture is the wrong file format.:confused:
     
  4. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #4
    I got the exact same thing (I'm guessing you're using version 7?). It was really odd, for the first few days after installing I couldn't set a display picture, then for about a week after that I could...one day it flat out refused again.

    Downgraded to version 6 and have had no problems.
     
  5. raquiros macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
  6. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #6
    where can i get version 6?
     
  7. raquiros macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #7
    You can download MSN Messenger 6.0 for Mac OS X in the following link:

    http://www.brothersoft.com/msn-messenger-for-mac-59601.html

    However we should try to fix it on version 7, as that is the current version of many of us and it works ok.... can you get us a screenshot of the error?
     
  8. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #8
    Try just uninstalling and reinstalling version 7, I reinstalled it a second ago to see if I could get a screenshot of the problem, and it's working fine.

    Also, does your copy have a "Bonjour users" group once you sign in? When I initially installed version 7 it didn't, but now it does and I don't have any problems with my display picture (...unless it was part of an update...)
     
  9. macfriend1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #9
    had exactly the same problem..

    note: I can't even choose from the default pictures!!!

    here the screen shot. please help.

    [​IMG]

    P.s. I changed the format a few times, resized it, nothing changed... must be a bug or something..
     
  10. macfriend1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #10
    any news? what's the matter? did they fix the bug?
    help, this is soo weird.
     
  11. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
  12. iTeen macrumors 65816

    iTeen

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    #12
    Damn people....haven't you ever heard of Adium????

    It is infinitely better then MSN Messenger...
     
  13. paradrome macrumors newbie

    paradrome

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #13
    Try this, it worked for me: Messenger Mac 7

    go to Preferences.
    under "Display Picture" in Appearance Tab (first tab you see)
    uncheck the "Allow others to see my display picture"
    click OK
    You are returned to the main contacts window
    click on the Display picture (currently blank with default blue msn guy)
    select "Change Display Picture..."
    Choose any default display picture > Press oK

    then CONTINUE normally :D
     
  14. paradrome macrumors newbie

    paradrome

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #14
    I dont like the interface of Adium.

    Try using iChat for MSN ! It's definitely better than Adium or mEssenger.
     
  15. macfriend1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #15

    how do i use ichat for msn? japper stuff?
     
  16. paradrome macrumors newbie

    paradrome

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #16
    :) Hail Jabber! There're tutorials on the internet which will guide you through the whole process.

    This is a good one ,work on Tiger and Leopard http://allforces.com/2005/05/06/ichat-to-msn-through-jabber/

    PS: You may miss out on some ichat features such as file transfer, video chat, share screen etc. Only Text. (if you use njs.netlab.cz as in the tutorial)

    I use geeklife.ru instead of njs.netlab.cz it support file transfer. However the server has higher downtime.

    You can check out the whole list of jabber server features comparison chart, I found it on Google the other day, but i can't seem to find it again.:p
     
  17. Kristine macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
  18. XelleX90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #18
    Hi there, this worked for me. (Answer is from Microsoft originally )

    Launch Messenger, but don't sign-in
    Choose the option to "Sign in with a different account . . ."
    Click Clear Account History . . .
    Click Clear History
    Now click Sign-in and enter your credentials again
     
  19. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #19
    It was an easy case.

    It turned out that there is a problem with the MSN version off the Apple website. I downloaded it several times but it did not help at all.

    I decided to download it from Microsoft's website and voilà .. everything worked fine :D
     
  20. roseofsharyn macrumors newbie

    #20
    legend.
    nice one mate, solved it for me completely
     
  21. raquiros macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #21
    So, that's the solution for the issue with the MSN Display picture?? Do I have to do it everytime I log into MSN?
     
  22. Lucky888 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #22
    I had exactly the same problem with the version I downloaded from the Microsoft site so I don't think it's something specifically to do with what Apple offer on theirs.

    Anyway this fix totally sorted it for me.

    Thanks Xelle90
     
  23. Nikki S macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #23
    The same thing happened to me. Couldnt even pick one of there ready made ones.
    I had to start conversations and then i was able to change the picture.
     
  24. amc59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #24
    This solved the problem for me ... thank you!
     
  25. akdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #25
    I experienced the same problem and also got it fixed following XelleX90's instructions. Thanks!
     

Share This Page