Multi Quote Function

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,191
5
Adelaide, Australia
I don't know where instructions are, but what aspect do you want to know? I just click on all the multiquote images (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/multiquote_off.gif) that I want to respond to such that they turn red (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/multiquote_on.gif) and then click on Post Reply at the bottom of the page (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/reply.gif). Works for me. :)
 

MACDRIVE

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Feb 17, 2006
1,695
3
Clovis, California
I don't know where instructions are, but what aspect do you want to know? I just click on all the multiquote images (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/multiquote_off.gif) that I want to respond to such that they turn red (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/multiquote_on.gif) and then click on Post Reply at the bottom of the page (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/reply.gif). Works for me. :)


mad jew to the rescue ... ThankYou Sir! :)
 

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
21,922
181
But if you select the posts you want to quote but don't end up replying for one reason or another, those selected posts will still be quoted in the next thread you reply to, as I've just discovered... unless you uncheck the alert at the bottom of the reply box.
 

pivo6

macrumors 68000
Dec 2, 2002
1,747
288
Minnesota
But if you select the posts you want to quote but don't end up replying for one reason or another, those selected posts will still be quoted in the next thread you reply to, as I've just discovered... unless you uncheck the alert at the bottom of the reply box.
Really? Would that mean that you could quote someone from an entirely different thread? Talk about taking someone out of context. ;)
 

rdowns

macrumors Penryn
Jul 11, 2003
27,397
12,512
I just post a reply to one at a time and let the mods clean up my mess. I look it as job security for them. :D
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,191
5
Adelaide, Australia
Let's just hope it doesn't get overused. I love multi quotes in a single post, but only if they're relevant to what's actually being said in the post.
 

thomasp

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2004
654
1
UK
And notice this nice little feature of vB3.6: In the quote box (next to "Originall posted by:...." is this icon: https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/viewpost.gif

Click it and you get taken to the relevant post :D
 

~Shard~

macrumors P6
Jun 4, 2003
18,377
43
1123.6536.5321
I don't think the feature will necessarily get misused. If anything, it will help the Mods in that they will not haver to (in theory) perform as many post merges. And for spammers like myself and mad jew, we now have less of an excuse to post multiple times, since it's so easy to reply to multiple posts in a single thread. ;) I think our posts/per day will definitely start to drop... .... BWAAHAHAHAHAAA!!!!! Yeah I almost said it with a straight face.... :D :cool:
 

dmw007

macrumors G4
May 26, 2005
10,635
0
Working for MI-6
I don't think the feature will necessarily get misused. If anything, it will help the Mods in that they will not haver to (in theory) perform as many post merges. And for spammers like myself and mad jew, we now have less of an excuse to post multiple times, since it's so easy to reply to multiple posts in a single thread. ;) I think our posts/per day will definitely start to drop... .... BWAAHAHAHAHAAA!!!!! Yeah I almost said it with a straight face.... :D :cool:
I agree, hopefully this feature will allow us to police our own posts better than before. :)



And no, I seriously doubt that post counts will drop. :p :D
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,909
41
Andover, MA
... and then click on Post Reply at the bottom of the page (https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/reply.gif). Works for me. :)
You can also just click on the https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/quote.gif button in any of the posts you've selected.
I just post a reply to one at a time and let the mods clean up my mess. I look it as job security for them. :D
Sadly, the "Merge" and "Delete" buttons are so close together, I often click the wrong one.
And no, I seriously doubt that post counts will drop. :p :D
There's also a new throttling feature - we set a posts-per-day limit on individual members, and, if they exceed that, older posts (possibly from years ago) get deleted so as to limit their effective posting rate. Very nice, actually.j/k
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,191
5
Adelaide, Australia
You can also just click on the https://forums.macrumors.com/images/buttons/quote.gif button in any of the posts you've selected.

I didn't know that, thanks. I tried using one of the Quote buttons in a different post but that didn't work. :)


There's also a new throttling feature - we set a posts-per-day limit on individual members, and, if they exceed that, older posts (possibly from years ago) get deleted so as to limit their effective posting rate. Very nice, actually.

Hahahahahahahahahaha! Really? :eek:
 

sycho

macrumors 6502a
Oct 7, 2006
865
3
quick question, is there a way to not allow images in quotes? that would be very useful.:)
 

WildCowboy

Administrator/Editor
Staff member
Jan 20, 2005
17,475
1,464
Exposing my ignorance here, but is there any way to do so which isn't horribly awkward? I can only assume I've missed something, probably because I tend to use images from my server as opposed to attachments most of the time.
Yeah, I just upload them as attachments directly. There may be an efficient way to do it using Manage Attachments, but I haven't explored that very much.

Thorry.
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,909
41
Andover, MA
Yeah, I just upload them as attachments directly. There may be an efficient way to do it using Manage Attachments, but I haven't explored that very much.

Thorry.
I meant the using the inline 'attach' tags - seems like you need to upload the image(s), determine the URL so as to get the attachment ID, and then manually type it in with tags (otherwise the images all appear below the post). Am I (not surprisingly) missing something?
 

MacNut

macrumors Core
Jan 4, 2002
22,124
8,551
CT
Yeah, I just upload them as attachments directly. There may be an efficient way to do it using Manage Attachments, but I haven't explored that very much.

Thorry.
Exposing my ignorance here, but is there any way to do so which isn't horribly awkward? I can only assume I've missed something, probably because I tend to use images from my server as opposed to attachments most of the time.
like this...http://guides.macrumors.com/Inline_Attachments....I think....
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.