Multiple Outputs on Mac (Boom & Digital output)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andrew.fenner, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. andrew.fenner macrumors newbie

    andrew.fenner

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    #1
    Hello

    I have created a multiple output set up on my mac so that I can output digital and line outputs. The digital goes to my amp and onto my speakers and the line goes to a set of PPM meters ( I do a lot of video editing). However the line output of the mac is not strong enough to drive the PPM's so, I need to use Boom 2. I then use tone to calibrate my PPM's.

    The problem is that I can't seem to have both Boom and the digital output working simultaneously as when I switch boom on, the digital output distorts. Sometimes when Boom is selected, I can't select the multi output either. Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. andrew.fenner thread starter macrumors newbie

    andrew.fenner

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    #3
    OS Sierra (10.12.6). I have Sound Flower installed, will that boost the volume though?
     
  4. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #4
    An analog preamp; maybe something lying around, currently unused...
     
  5. andrew.fenner thread starter macrumors newbie

    andrew.fenner

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    #5
    Good idea. I think I may have an old preamp which would do just the job.
     
  6. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    have you looked at 'audio midi setup.app' in the utility folder, i think you can make a new sound device with both outputs which might solve one turning off when you use it.
    or depending on the app it may be a setting in the preferences, CS6 PP was always a pain with audio outputs :(
     

Share This Page