My Apple Branded SSD says no Trim ????

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alexxn, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. alexxn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #1
    So I just installed a Toshiba / Apple SSD in my 2011 MBP, installed ML fresh install and it's saying No Trim Support ?? What gives ??

    APPLE SSD TS256B:

    Capacity: 251 GB (251,000,193,024 bytes)
    Model: APPLE SSD TS256B
    Revision: AGAA0205
    Serial Number: 69MS108WT0SZ
    Native Command Queuing: No
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Medium Type: Solid State
    TRIM Support: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
     
  2. A Hebrew macrumors 6502a

    A Hebrew

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Minnesota
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Isn't Trim Enabler supposed to be for non-Apple drives?
     
  4. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #4
    As far as I know Apple drives don't need the Trim hack.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    That's what I thought too, so I'm as confused as you are with OS X saying that trim isn't supported. Hmm.
     
  6. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #6
    And i specifically got the Apple SSD to have Trim work natively.
     
  7. GekkePrutser macrumors 6502a

    GekkePrutser

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Ah so you installed it after buying the machine? Maybe it needs a reinstall then to be detected properly.
     
  8. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #8
    I installed the SSD, booted from my ML USB key, ran disk utility and formatted, then installed ML fresh. Rebooted twice and even tried resetting NVRAM but still no luck.
     
  9. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    Any reason why you can't just run TRIMenabler?
     
  10. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
  11. snoylekim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #12
    Interesting that NCQ is also not enabled .. This should be Yes with a queue depth ...
     
  12. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #13
    If you look at the Macrumors article I linked above, NCQ is not enabled there either...
     
  13. snoylekim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #14
    It's enabled on the rMBP .. possibly different Chipset w/ the Ivy Bridge processors versus 2010/2011 models ..

    The KEXT modification used in the terminal command TRIM 'hack'/ process uses the 'APPLE' string ..Interesting .. Ironic thing is , if OP had put in a Samsung and used the terminal mod , TRIM would be enabled ..

    won't comment on trim enabler app ..never used it ..
     
  14. whiteonline macrumors 6502

    whiteonline

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #15
    Dumb question....
    Did you buy the SSD from Apple directly?
     
  15. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #16
    No, Ebay
     
  16. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #17
    So I guess I have a few options here, searching the internet has turned up nothing, and the few things I found (not the Trim hack) didn't seem to work either.

    I can:

    1) Run my drive as is (with no Trim) and roll the dice to see what eventually happens.

    2) Try the Trim Hack with my Apple SSD and see what happens.

    3) Try my luck at the Genius Bar (which I'm sure will be a waste of time seeing how the SSD isn't original to my laptop)

    4) Bite the bullet and buy another Apple SSD (later model one)

    5) Buy an aftermarket SSD (Samsung 830 seems to be most popular)

    Now what to do ???

    I thinks it's really a shame how Apple says their SSD's are Trim enabled from 10.6.8 yet that isn't the case here :confused:
     
  17. applerepairs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fulham, London
    #18
    Trim Enabler is for non-Apple drives. I m 100% Sure...
     
  18. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #19
    Well this is terrific, tried to use Trim Enabler and while it identifies my SSD it says it's not supported.

    Scratch #2 above :(
     
  19. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    Why not just do this in the first place does TRIMenabler supposedly cause problems? The only issues I've had with mine is that it resets itself during major system updates. But honestly it's not a big deal to just turn it back on.

    It sounds like native TRIM without a hack is important to you, it's probably worth a try. They're not going to charge to just look at the laptop.

    This is probably what I would have done in the first place. The Samsung 830 is a great drive.

    ----------

    LOL! This has been brought up at least two times already.

    ----------

    Is the SSD older? Maybe it doesn't support TRIM?
     
  20. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #21
    I did Try Trim Enabler and it says my drive is not supported.

    You are correct, I specifically bought an Apple SSD to have native Trim - way too many back and forth threads about the Trim Hack working or being good or bad to use etc.

    I'm starting to think it may be an older Apple SSD and not Trim supported, I should have done my homework instead of assuming "All Apple SSD's support native Trim" which I'm sure I've read somewhere.

    Now I have to decide wheteher it's worth dropping even more $ on another SSD or leaving this one as is and see what happens.
     
  21. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #22
    I just made an appointment with the Genius Bar for later this afternoon.
     
  22. alexxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    S. Fla
    #23
    Well I just got back from Apple. I played dumb when he said my laptop came with a 500GB 5400rpm drive, I said I bought it the way it was from Best Buy. Basically told me he has no "magic" switch to turn on to enable Trim and told me not to worry about it, yada yada.

    So I guess I'll load it up as is and see what happens for now. Unless I find a great deal on a newer Apple SSD.
     
  23. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #24
    Why are you so adamant about running trim? You should sell that one or see if the eBay seller will accept returns. Then buy a Crucial or Samsung SSD, they don't need trim to run efficiently.
     
  24. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #25
    And if you do want to enable TRIM on those drives, you can just use the TRIM enabler.
     

Share This Page