My C++ tool will only run on the computer where it was compiled

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by joakimk, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. joakimk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #1
    Hi! I have some C++ code which needs to run on a mac (it uses VecLib BLAS), so I installed Xcode yesterday on my old G4 and was able to compile and run the tool :D

    However, I'd like to go to work now (hehe), where we use Linux. My plan is to have the tool on a USB stick, and simply ask my OSX colleague to run the tool when I need it. But, trying this on my G3 iBook, it obviously isn't compiled to run on a different machine. The iBook says,
    Now, jknudsen is me on the G4. What can be done in Xcode to make a standalone app? It's OK for this to be a terminal tool. Please see attached snapshot of my Xcode project :) Thanks a bunch!!

    Joakim
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #2
    1. Turn Zerolink off.
    2. Vector code won't run on a G3.
     
  3. joakimk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #3
    Thanks, I'll make a "release build". So I should expect the program to run fine on the G5 laptops of my colleagues, then?
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    G5 laptops. Please tell where you got these mythical machines from!

    There is no such thing as a G5 laptop :).
     
  5. Sander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #5
    See here for a G5 laptop. You could even build one yourself by swapping out the motherboard of a G4 laptop, by buying this.

    ;)
     
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #6
    Your links are broken :).

    I see there was a laptop called a G5 but it was not actually a G5. That eBay action made me laugh though.
     

Share This Page