My first Mac and in need of advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by alstrike, Nov 13, 2011.

1. alstrike macrumors regular

alstrike

Hi everyone,

been lurking for a few weeks but finally decided to register today. Need to get a new laptop and was thinking about something small.

I work part time as an english teacher and currently use a XPS M1530 with a 50% dead 9 cell battery. Really hate taking the AC adaptor with me (big brick) because the battery lasts only for like 1h 1/2.

I was thinking on getting the MBA (13" base), here in Spain costs 1.249,00 € (1,721.90 USD). However I work as a computer salesman in a big european retailer too and we just got some 13" MBP base models (early 2011) and they are going for 949€ (1,307.70 USD).

My usage is pretty simple, basically internet, email, office, music and a lot of TV shows and movies (720 & 1080p mkv´s). I need it to play songs through the speakers in class (lessons) and I don´t know if the speakers are good enough for that.

If I get the 13" MBP I will get 8GB RAM (cheap) and a SSD and keep the HDD external.

What do you guys think? I really appreciate your help.

P.S. Sorry for the long explanation...

2. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k

If you can handle the weight, go for the 13in MBP as it will have better battery life than the MBA. I no longer think about portability and my next computer will be either an iMac or a larger MBP. This is because I normally carry my iPad to meetings and my Macbook is really acting as a desktop. As an english teacher, there may be apps you need that you can't use on the iPad, hence I suggest the 13 in MBP as a long battery life, moderately portable solution. If you find a way to get what you need for teaching to work on an iPad, it's really the best portable computer on the market right now.

3. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

I normally carry a 17" MBP and iPad almost every day.

4. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110