My first MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by steven0451, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. steven0451 macrumors newbie

    steven0451

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hey everyone, I'm pretty new here so I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm Steven and I've just bought a brand new MacBook Pro after 10+ years on Windows.

    I suppose I'll start with the specs...
    I opted for the 15-inch matte screen after going into the Apple Store in Sheffield and looking at a comparison between that and the 17-inch. This Mac has to last me a good 3 years of my university life so I tried to make it future proof and got the best options available. 2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 200GB 7200RPM hard drive, Apple Remote (yep, I watch all my TV shows & video podcasts on my computer). Oh and AppleCare Protection Plan.

    Ok, so... I'll skip over the headache-inducing Windows nightmare, and get to the juicy bits that I love about my Mac so far:
    I love the built-in iSight camera! If you've ever had to plug in one of those bulbous Logitech webcams and then install the drvers (and bloated software, seriously wtf is with that Logitech Messenger?) that comes with it, then update it everything to make sure that it'll work without flaw; then this is definitely a godsend in comparison. I downloaded Skype (much nicer & cleaner interface for OS X) and had it up and running in 1 minute. Very handy for staying in-touch with my family. :)
    Of course, Photo Booth is just so much fun and I'm just dumbfounded by the quality of it! Epic win on that front. :D

    Exposé is just a pleasure to use, I find I can actually multi-task a lot better now than I used to be able to.

    Multi-touch gestures were overlooked when I used Windows, the closest you got to them were the dedicated "zones" on your (already small) trackpad that you used for scrolling. Now with my Mac, it just makes sense to be able to use two fingers for scrolling or three for flicking through pages & photos.

    Apple Remote (and Front Row), whenever I don't want to be productive I now have the ultimate laziness option. :D Seriously though, very small and easy to use. Only the buttons that you need are provided, and it just works with everything that I want to. Not sure on replacing the battery, but I'm sure it'll last years before I even have to think about that. Right?

    Slot loading superdrive; thank you Apple for not using that damn cup-holder! I loved it on the old-tech VHS players, I loved it on my PS3 and I now love it on my computer. 'Nuff said :)

    Magsafe, again, it's one of those things that make sense when you have it but never thought about it until you tripped over it.

    I'll stop rambling now: I'm never switching back. :eek:
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Consider the nail's head hit. Welcome.
     
  3. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Sweet & welcome, but i hope you didn't get that RAM from Apple ?? otherwise your just had your wallet raped
     
  5. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    I still think threads like these needs pictures. :) New Macbook Pro in its new habitat.
     
  6. BasseyImp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #6
    I'll post pics of mine when I get it.:)

    Anyway, congrats Steven! I've been a Windows user for nearly as long as you have and I can't wait to get my new machine, when people ask me why I've chosen a Mac, I just quote Dr Spock and say that it's a 'logical' decision just because Mac's work and winpc's don't.

    :p
     
  7. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #7
    Why not? If I had the money to spare I would just go ahead and buy from Apple (I don't have the money to spare, but if I did). Mainly because I am lazy and want it perfect out of the box. Even the Apple does charge a fortune for there ram upgrades. It's very nice knowing Apple put's allot more of there money into R&D then most other, if not all PC manufactures.
     
  8. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #8
    Buying memory from Apple will be covered under their warranty.
     
  9. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #9
    Congratulations on your purchase and may it and you both "live long and prosper" together; welcome to the forum and to the world of Mac.

    I'm a fairly recent switcher, too and have hugely enjoyed my MBP since I bought it last April.

    Cheers and good luck
     
  10. MowingDevil macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #10
    Exactly! Any problems from top to bottom I just take it back to them.
    Besides, as mentioned earlier they spend alot on R&D so I don't mind supporting them a bit extra....plus, ya its ready to go out of the box. :D
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    Oh hear we go again,yes its up to the OP if he choses to spend money on something he could have got cheaper elsewhere, yes I'm fully aware Apple RAM is covered by their warranty, but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to workout that if something goes wrong you swap back to the original RAM before taking it in store does it?
     
  12. jdzialak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #12
    Congrats and welcome!
    I just switched over 4 months ago from PC and love it!
    What's the Apple Remote? TV...
    I'll do a search.

    Joe
     
  13. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #13
    just a note, 200GB @ 7200RPM isn't top of the line now. Its 320GB @ 7200RPM :p
     
  14. steven0451 thread starter macrumors newbie

    steven0451

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Yep I got the RAM from Apple because with this being my first Mac, I didn't want to open it up. I just wanted it to be the best I could get out-of-the-box. I can totally understand other people not wanting to pay so much though because it was a little pricey, but what the hell. ;)
    Heh, well I hope you like my habitat as much as I like my MBP.
    Wow, that's pretty cool that you're going to get one too. Have you got any idea of what particular Mac? Or the specs? I'd be interested to see what you like. :)
    Love the "ready out of the box" too. Especially after so many years of it never being ready to go, or just loaded with bloatware.
    Nice one dude. :cool: I can't wait to get some games loaded onto mine so I can enjoy it more too. Just finishing off moving some data over from my old machine.
    The Apple Remote is used for anything Quicktime, iTunes or Front Row...and I love it. :p
     

    Attached Files:

  15. steven0451 thread starter macrumors newbie

    steven0451

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    Maybe for a different Mac, but for the 15-inch MacBook Pro a 200GB HDD is the largest 7200RPM available according to Apple UK store.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. BasseyImp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #16
    I've ordered the base model which is basically the same as yours but with a 2.4GHz processor instead of 2.6, 2GB of RAM instead of 4 and I didn't get a apple remote, I got a laptop bag instead.

    I use Imac's at college so they really appeal to me, but a notebook is better for me since I already own a workhorse PC and I wouldn't have room for another tower. All the features that Mac's have maybe barely noticeable to people who haven't used a Mac before but things like the multi-touch, magsafe and applications that actually run smoothly make the usability that much nicer. Also it's much easier for me to use it in conjunction with the Macs at college.

    I hope you enjoy your new Mac as I'm sure I will do too in a couple of days! :apple::)
     
  17. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #17
    It's a 3rd party drive, that can be dropped into the MacBook Pro. I plain on putting one in my MacBook Pro, when I buy it.
     
  18. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #18
    Bingo. Apple doesn't up their options until a refresh/update on their notebook line. I have a Western Digital 320GB @ 7200RPM drive in my macbook pro
     
  19. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #19
    Hey there OP, welcome and congrats. I also just made the switch and picked up a 2.6Mhz, 17" matte screen with the 200gb 7200RPM drive. I got my memory from Newegg.com though but I can understand your reluctance to crack open the MBP.

    Anyway, this baby simply flies. I couldnt be happier with it. I use Windows at work, so right now Im wishing I was typing away on my MBP instead of this POS!!

    Im already trying to convince my wife to pick up a MB or Air instead of her Compaq but she isnt to happy with change. Even though she LOVES iPhoto and PhotoBooth among other things Ive showed her.

    Thanks to all on this forum and thanks to Apple for the iPhone. I am the reason they came up with the term "Halo effect." Since getting my iPhone Ive bought more Apple products than I ever imagined!

    In other words Im converted, no question about it.

    PS, you mentioned FrontRow, I thought thats only used if you have Apple TV? I guess Ill have to do a search too!
     
  20. steven0451 thread starter macrumors newbie

    steven0451

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    Ah, that makes sense. I don't think I'll be doing that though. Like I said, I'm not much for cracking open new tech stuff and 200GB is more than enough at the moment. I store all my other stuff on external harddrives. ;)
    I feel your pain, I'm in a gap year before I go to university to get some cash for living expenses and I have to put up with Windows at work too. :(
    I can also relate with other Apple products, I'm definitely getting an iPhone on December 25th (not for Christmas, it just happens to be when my current contract is up :) ). Thinking about maybe investing in a Time Capsule...for now though a standard external HDD will suffice.
    As for Front Row, open Finder and navigate to Applications...it should be in there. It doesn't require a remote to work (arrow keys, enter & escape will work), but it's nice to have the option of sitting back with one in-hand. :D
     
  21. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #21
    Your machine is still under warranty if you install 3rd-party RAM, too. The only thing they won't cover is the RAM itself (or problems they can prove without a doubt caused by the RAM you installed).

    I've never bought RAM from Apple and I have never been scoffed at for using 3rd party RAM in a machine I've dropped off for repair. But then again, I've never had a problem actually caused by 3rd-party RAM. Buy from a quality vendor (Crucial, OWC, etc.) and you shouldn't have problems. Apple buys RAM from other suppliers and re-brands it to use as OEM. And so does every other computer manufacturer.

    Technically speaking, big PC manufacturers have the same policy on user-installed 3rd-party RAM. They won't cover it under warranty if it wasn't purchased (at an inflated price, of course) through them. This isn't specific to Apple.
     
  22. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #22

    I actually bought the Airport Extreme base station and hooked up an external USB drive to that to use with Time Machine. I personally liked this option better than TC simply because you can partition the external drive whereas you cant do anything with Time Cap. So on my Drobo (which I highly recommend by the way drobo.com) I have 1 partition of 1tb for media for the whole house to share, then another 500gb partition just for Time Machine. Its working out well. On the Time Cap, if you have media on there as well as backups, I believe the backups take priority and can start erasing your media if it gets to full.
     
  23. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    Congratulations on the computer!

    And ignore the Apple RAM haters. :p
     
  24. MowingDevil macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #24
    Speaking of Apple Remotes...do they come with all MBPs?
    Doesn't sound like it....but a couple videos on YouTube of people opening their first MBPs have the remotes in the box. It appears stock.
    I know when I ordered mine online it was offered as an option yet I have friends who didn't pay extra but received them w/ their purchase.
     
  25. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #25
    Congratulations!!Welcome to our community! You'll love it here!:D
     

Share This Page