My Mac is Controlled by a Hacker (Really)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by poyzindrink, Oct 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poyzindrink macrumors newbie

    poyzindrink

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, Az.
    #1
    Okay, I just wrote a long detailed account of what's happening, and the hacker sent me somewhere else when I tried to post it. Now I have to start all over. Here are the facts:

    I'm normal and don't do anything weird on my computer. I have a G4 powerbook with Tiger and Vonage (not sure if that's considered a router) and an ethernet connection. I know how to set up all my preferences, I don't want to share anything. I want to use my computer and my internet by myself. It always starts out with my network config changing to "Internal Modem." Then my location changes, then my (LOCKED) system preferences are unlocked. The "Network Time" box will be checked. My firewall keeps getting turned off. My IP Net Sentry is suddenly set up to receive packages, and there are hundreds of scripts and Python and Network time, users named "Other", etc.

    So, okay, I will do a clean re-install because I can't have anything on my own computer because of this. I unplugged everything and in the morning, I put my Tiger disk in. I have two hard drives so in disk utility, I was doing a 7 pass secure erase of Other's hard drive but WHILE I was erasing his, he changed the name of my hard drive and put all his stuff on there. He even made my install show the languages and Welcome Screen at the end of Disk 2!

    He's always one step ahead of me and I've read and read and read, but what good do any of these usual solutions do when he is obviously root user, because I can't open Net Info at all. He has set an open firmware password. When I was trying to reinstall, I wasn't even hooked up to my ethernet! He connects to me with Internal Modem and it says BUS: ATA Device 0 for him. (the ominous "Other") I swear he made my last message to you go away too. Please don't think I'm crazy, I'm not! I just don't know what to do to get rid of this thing! I have a G4 tower I'd love to use because of the big monitor, but I can't.

    You guys are my ONLY HOPE. You are the real "geniuses." You guys will love this. I had a new Mac Mini, same thing. It (he) was controlling everything in my new Mac, so I took it to the genius bar. One of the geniuses (LOL) is looking in the hard drive after telling me that what I was saying "wasn't possible." But he sees everything I told him, but he pretends he doesn't. Another genius comes by and excitedly says, "LOOK! IT'S THAT..." when he is abruptly silenced by his superior who is now standing behind him. He shakes his head cryptically and gives him a disapproving nudge. Because they must not break THE CODE. They must protect the Mac's reputation. UGH. Thankfully, before I left, (he insisted I had a BAD HARD DRIVE) he regaled me with his vast wisdom, by saying (with his brow furrowed) "You know... you could stay off the internet. That would solve your problem." I stared at him blankly. He was serious.

    Please help me you guys. There has to be something I can do! If you need more technical info, just tell me! What steps can I take when he (OR IT) is there even when I'm not on the internet and doing a re-install! What good does anything do when he controls every setting and app.? I'm going to get this to send somehow. Thanks for listening, Julie

    So maybe I'm paranoid, but who wouldn't be! Even if I was, this stuff is really happoening. I don't need attention, and would so much rather be doing something else with my time, I promise.
     
  2. MasterDev macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #2
    You could put the pipe down for a day or two ya know... :D
     
  3. poyzindrink thread starter macrumors newbie

    poyzindrink

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, Az.
    #3
    Oh ha ha. Come on! Really! I'll show you anything you want to see. (Well almost anything)
     
  4. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #4
    If covering your Mac in tin foil doesn't work, I'd recommend unplugging your Ethernet cable while you re-install. :rolleyes:
     
  5. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    How do we know your hacker didn't post this? :rolleyes:

    One step ahead, remember?
     
  6. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #6
    go offline while reinstalling is the obvious answer, a hacker cant touch a machine without a active net connection
     
  7. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #7
    lol, put the pipe down. Either you dropped way too much acid, or you have a seriously split personality (you do something, the hacker does something).. Cover your mac in tin foil. That will help loads.
     
  8. AAPLaday Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  9. yanquis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #9
    yeah, try laying off the pot for a week or so & he'll probably go away. seriously.

    if you're not joking, & not smoking weed or abusing some other drug 24/7, u may want to see a psychiatrist.
     
  10. poyzindrink thread starter macrumors newbie

    poyzindrink

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, Az.
    #10
    I thought you guys knew stuff. I already said I unplugged EVERYTHING for 10 hours before I went to bed/ thanks for all your help! Wow, a shrink. Okay, I get you. I think it's the scutil virus, not that any of you even know what that is, because you're all obsessed with getting high.
     
  11. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Why is everyone coming down on her? She is asking for help. If you can't help just read and not post.

    Like another user stated, unplug from the internet while you do your reinstall...
     
  12. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #12
    this reminds me of that movie "Dead Guy on Campus", where they are trying to recruit the most suicidal person for a room mate, so the won't get kicked out. Bill Gates is after you!!!!!

    Seriously, if you unplug the ethernet/internet, reformat/reinstall, there is no way for him to control you.:rolleyes:
     
  13. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #13
    and in future be careful of what you download and where it comes from, i've just read about the " scutil virus " and it says for the most it comes from pornographic sites,

    lock your router up too make sure the key is secret and no one should be able to hijack your computer again ;)
     
  14. poyzindrink thread starter macrumors newbie

    poyzindrink

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, Az.
    #14
    Thanks at least one person is listening. I was unplugged, I unplugged my modem, Vonage and Mac, overnight. When I went to reinstall, I still wasn't plugged in, but this thing isn't connecting to me through the ethernet anyway, it shows up in disk utility as Connection: BUS ATA Internel Modem... it's redirecting me all over the place right now! Is there anything I can capture and show you that would help? Because that is a myth, that nothing can get you unless your hooked to the internet. I read the scutil was in the installation packages! And seriously, I have never been to a porn sight, gross. I'M A GIRL. Come on. You know we don't like that stuff. At least online (LOL)
     
  15. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #15
    take a screen shot of what is happening. Control+shift+4 to take a selected screen shot, or command+shift+3 for a full screen shot.

    Then upload them here.

    You might have to go to system preferences and then into networks to setup the internet..
     
  16. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #16
    lol, have you tried verifying the disk and permissions in disk utility?, or have you got another mac, if yes, then hook ya book up thru the firewire and use carbon copy cloner to do a clean install, failing that, format ya HD and use your disc to do a clean install, if after all that it's still messing up i dont know, never really encountered a virus like that on mac before :S

    to take a screenshot press cmd + shift + 3 ;) it'll save the shot to ya desktop ;)
     
  17. poyzindrink thread starter macrumors newbie

    poyzindrink

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, Az.
    #17
    I have another Mac with a kernel panic, Please restart your computer we are hanging here thing on it. Okay, what do you want the screen shot to be of?
     
  18. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #18
    hmmm, disk utility and network util would prolly be the best to start with ;)
     
  19. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #19
    of whatever is going on. So we can better help you.
     
  20. DavieBoy macrumors 6502

    DavieBoy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #20
    This is so funny. It is even a little funny if it is true. I would love to see video of it in action.
     
  21. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
  22. poyzindrink thread starter macrumors newbie

    poyzindrink

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, Az.
  23. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #23
    thats only one HD and it's not looking like theyres anything wrong,

    did you repair permissions after verifying it? do that then verify again to see if it worked or not.

    the other 2 disc images are disc inserted in the disc drive, eject them ;)
     
  24. prodigee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #24
    Well, here is an idea, might be a stretch for you, disable airport, and remove the ethernet cable, then reinstall Tiger...

    That and stop dropping acid, and you should be ok.
     
  25. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #25
    You only have one hard drive, and it hasn't been renamed per se. The partition name is just the same as the drive's model info listed in Disk Utility. (The ST- model number indicates that it's a Seagate drive.) It's a bit odd, but not exactly a sign of malicious action.

    Where did the "hacker" send you while you were trying to post?

    I think we've covered all of that already, thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page