My New iPad Has Dirt/Dead Pixels on the Screen

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Josh Kahane, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. Josh Kahane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    #1
    I just received my new iPad (3rd gen of course) and it has either some dead pixels or a bit of dirt under the screen...

    This is so ultimately disappointing and very frustrating. I'd swap it but Apple has no stock.

    Any tips?
     
  2. Kroxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Use it until they get new stock....
     
  3. homeboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Go to a local Apple Store. They must have spare iPads in stock behind the Genius bar. Those units don't come in a retail box and are soley for replcing defect goods.
     
  4. Kroxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    The ones that are not in retail boxes are reconditioned, don't think they will have any of those yet.... But apple stores do keep hold of a few new iPads just in case someone has a defective iPad
     
  5. JoJoCal19 macrumors 65816

    JoJoCal19

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #5
    If I have to replce my iPad it's going to be with another retail unit. Or I'll return and repurchase as many times as necessary.
     
  6. wtiger91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #6
    those are not refurbished ones, when people brought in their defective ipad2s after launch day last year, apple gave out replacements.
     
  7. Kroxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I took my ipad2 back last year and was given a brand new one....
     
  8. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #10
    I will bet it will only take a few weeks and they will have lots of iPad 3 refurbs as many return them over and over.

    Right now you would get a new one for sure.
     
  9. homeboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #12
    They are not neccessarily reconditioned. They are simply not for retail sale i.e specifically been allocated for replacing defect units. I have had my iDevices exchanged in the past and all of them have been out of boxes that aren't retail but have had plastic film and everything on them.
     
  10. Kroxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yes, the insides are reconditioned and the case and screen are new
     
  11. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #14
    How on earth are they going to be reconditioned when the thing's only been out for less than 24h? Unless a load of time travellers have been buying them, going back into the past and returning them so Apple has had time to recondition them and get them back to stores already, of course... :rolleyes:
     
  12. Angler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
  13. M87 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
  14. JUiCEJamie macrumors 6502a

    JUiCEJamie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #17
    That's what I'd accept too.
     
  15. Kroxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Have you read all of this thread?? I said earlier that they won't have any reconditioned ones yet and he will receive a new one..... I was talking in general that all the apple devices out of the black boxes are reconditioned inside but have new screens and casing (I think)
     
  16. Josh Kahane thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    #19
    I rang up and apparently I can't go to my Apple Store as them and the online store (where I preordered) are separate entities.

    He would setup a replacement but I wouldn't get my replacement until the first week of April.

    I am going to put up with it for now and in two weeks if I can cope, then meh and if its still driving me nuts I'll setup a replacement then (when stock levels and hopefully levelled out).
     
  17. glen e macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #20
    ridiculous...sh** happens...walk into any apple store in 3 weeks and walk out with a new one...what other problems do we have?
     
  18. mad-jamie16 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #21
    haha love it, three demands for pictures in the space of a minute.
     
  19. PPFee macrumors 6502

    PPFee

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #22
    What?!? You are saying in turn that you did not actually buy it from apple then? If yes, don't just say yes, give all details, also post a pic or ten please
     
  20. William.Mantle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    #23
    His story is falling apart... If he doesn't get some pictures up then it's pretty obvious someone's just looking for attention

    How sad
     
  21. mugatu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #25
    I've just received my new iPad (in the UK) and unfortunately there are some dead pixels bang in the middle of the screen. I've booked a Genius bar appointment for tomorrow in the hope they can replace it. Two quick questions;

    1) I ordered online, will the Genius bar still replace/fix it or will they send me away to speak to the online team?

    2) Do you think there's any chance they'll have replacement units out back to swap it with one day after launch?
     

Share This Page