My new IPS/LED 27" Monitor is very Grainy need advice

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SoundMan, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. SoundMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #1
    Hi Guys

    So I just bought this new 27" Monitor but the Text looks very grainy and Color's washed out...I thought everything was going to be nice & sharp

    I'm using a old HP Pavilion G6 hooked up via HDMI for testing purposes. This Monitor was bought for my 2010 Macbook pro 15"and I'm waiting on the HDMI to Mini display-port cable.

    I'm new to the monitor game and thought LED/IPS 1080P was everything checked off.

    http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product...spx?path=8c0ff8a3e1d904394a8dc8af42d9dc53en02

    Will I see better results with a Monitor calibration or just return the monitor. my computer can't run 4k being a 2010 model year.


    I'm just very lost


    thank you
     
  2. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like it has an overly aggressive amount of antiglare coating. There are ways to remove it but it's very difficult (you have to take the monitor apart) and voids your warranty. There are guides available online but it's probably easier to return the monitor and get a different one. Check professional and user reviews to see if a monitor you're looking at has this "feature".
     
  3. SoundMan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #3
    Hi,

    So my old HP was only doing 1366x768 and I bought my adapter and the results are amazing on the Mac now. I do have questions I was hoping you could help with or other members.

    Here's my mac specs

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...5-2.4-aluminum-15-mid-2010-unibody-specs.html

    It says Mini display-port can support 2560x1600

    Here's my screen shots, I only see 1080P
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    If I return this monitor and buy a 2460x1440 or higher 2560x1600 would it even work?

    Here's the other strange thing, it's not displaying full screen with the lid open but closed everything is fine?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    When you have the lid open, and you want the same image on both the internal screen and your external - then you are limited to mirroring, which means you are limited to the resolution of the built-in screen. Both screens show exactly the same image.
    You can turn Mirroring OFF, in your Displays pref pane, then adjust the settings for the external to your preferences. It will then be an extension of the your internal screen, adding to its screen space.
    When you shut the lid, the external is simply your display, and would work full size, and you also would use an external keyboard/mouse. Your MBPro then works much as a desktop would. That's known as "Clamshell mode" - operating with the lid closed.
    If you want that full resolution that your MBPro would be capable of doing (2560 x 1600), then you would need a different external - one that supports that resolution. Your LG display does not support more than 1920 x 1080
    If you do trade out to a higher resolution display, your MBPro will support that, with the correct adapter (the one you have now may be OK with a better display)
    Keep in mind that going to that higher resolution also means that menus and other on-screen text will shrink according to the higher resolution (text will be smaller).
     
  5. sickntired macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #5
    I think your mac is seeing the monitor as a TV. You should force RGB mode -- instructions are here
     

Share This Page