Navigon on iPad works better than on iPhone .

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by boss1, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. boss1 macrumors 6502a

    boss1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #1
    ThTs been my experience so far in my commute.

    With the iPhone navigon would jump me around and tell me to get on the freeway when I was already on the freeway :confused:

    With the iPad 3G ... It updated my position in real time while I was pulling out of my driveway ... 40 ft.

    It's not optimized for the iPad and I hope that update comes ( without price gouging ) but it's much much better so far IMO
     
  2. LouieSamman macrumors 6502a

    LouieSamman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #2
    I got navigon on my iPad 3G and waiting on the day they come out with the iPad version.

    But the iPhone version will do for now.
     
  3. Lamplighter77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #3
    Yeah, it's been exactly the same for me. Working great on my iPad and it wasn't even really usable on my iPhone 3G. I was beginning to think I wasted that $25.
     
  4. ARH1956 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #4
    Are you sure you're talking about Navigon? I don't believe it's ever been $25 and it works superbly on my iphone as well as my iPad.
     
  5. Love Juice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #5
    i'd have to look, but i think i recall that they released region specific maps. i.e., se, ne, etc. for those who didnt need the whole us, and they were about that price.
     
  6. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #6
    Hmmmm interesting

    I've got the West Region Navigon ($25) and it works well but it does get confused at times for a split second. Perhaps it benefits from the faster processor or maybe the GPS functionality in the iPad is a bit more robust.
     
  7. ARH1956 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    Ah, I bought it when it first arrived for $69 and wasn't up on the regional maps. I see that $29 regional offerings are available now.
     
  8. Alectric macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    #8
    Navigon works great on the iPad! So much better than on my iPhone 3G. The OP beat me to creating this thread, but everything about navigon on my iPad is better. Faster to load, more responsive and best of all the GPS signal is twice as strong as my iPhone(my phone needs line-of-sight). as you can tell I'm very excited! My favorite thing about my iPhone is it's GPS capabilities. Now the iPad has added a whole new level.
     
  9. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #9
    You bastards are making me regret getting a Wifi iPad. I hate all of you! :p


    Well I guess I could get used to this.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Love Juice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #10
    i read over on gizmodo that ifixit did a teardown already, and this is probably the reason for the better gps:

    * The iPad 3G has a Broadcom BCM4750UBG Single-Chip AGPS Solution, whereas the iPhone 3GS uses an Infineon Hammerhead II package. Big win for Broadcom!
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    My TomTom app says I have an iPod, so it won't let me use it.
     
  12. dynalmadman macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    Vegas, baby!
    #12
    Since the app downloads all the map to device memory, can you navigate with this applicaiton without having a 3g data plan? I would think this would be the case since the aGPS is independent of the data plan.

    Thanks,
    Michael
     
  13. coelacanth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #13
    Michael,

    I believe you can (I use Navigon on iPhone 3GS without data or even cell service at all), but you won't be able to receive traffic information w/o data plan if you add that feature to the app via in-app purchase. Rerouting comes in very handy time to time.
     
  14. Dataquest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #14
    I can hardly wait until they come out with an iPad version! I see that CoPilot live has one, but I want to wait for a better selection before purchasing an app. This should be awesome on my 3g iPad! Maybe then, I'll give my Garmin gps to my Dad for his birthday.
     
  15. squint0241 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #15
    For those who bought the Wi-Fi only, no worries. You can still have full GPS functionality on it too! Though...you have to jailbreak your iPad first. Download "Roqy BT" from Cydia. Purchase a small GPS receiver which there are many and very cheap (Amazon has plenty). Connect your iPad using the RoqyBT (Bluetooth) to the GPS receiver and viola! You're in the game! About $40 total for the purchase of RoqyBT and a GPS receiver.
     
  16. Dataquest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #16
    Wow, I'm glad I got the 3G iPad, then.:eek:
     
  17. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #17
    I've installed Navigon and confirmed that it runs. Haven't tried it in the car yet. (I still have to cut and bend the stalk for my RAM mount). This sounds encouraging.

    I was about to request a refund for Navigon. Half the time (at least) I miss voice instructions because the sound cuts-out, and there's no "repeat" button. (music playing while in Navigon is fine - it's just the turn-by-turn instructions that cut-out.) And the UI is horribly slow. Obviously, they are using some emulation layer on the UI. And it frequently crashes (probably memory issue) on my iPhone 3G.

    Navigon does come up much more quickly on the iPad, and the UI is much more responsive. It doesn't take several seconds for each keystroke as it does on the iPhone 3G.

    The graphics suck, but that's the cheesy way that Apple implemented the 2X mode. That's really disappointing. NO real scaling, just bit-doubling. I guess they did that to avoid excessive CPU usage, but it looks really crude.

    Would love to see them support iPad specifically, but I suppose there wouldn't be enough of a demand, and encouraging installation of an iPad in the front seat might be controversial for any company that releases an iPad navigation app.
     
  18. squint0241 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #18
    GPS solution for WiFi Only iPad owners

    Here's the stuff to get Nav on the road (WiFi iPadder's specifically):

    Once RoqyBT is installed and connected to your bluetooth GPS device, you can then use any location based application on your iPad that utilizes GPS, i.e., TomTom, Navigon or Google Maps. Anywho...sure the 3G iPad version incorporates the GPS receiver, but at least there is an option for WiFi users if they choose. I just can't see spending the extra money for the 3G (plus the data plan) for lousy AT&T network speeds just for the GPS chip. This method will only cost you est. $40. Or you can spend the extra $100 plus for the 3G iPad plus a monthly data plan from AT&T...oh yeah, and have your GPS too... Think of it as a monthly payment to AT&T for their data and to use GPS. The math is easy...
     

    Attached Files:

  19. nightspider macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #19
  20. 0101001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #20
    I'll pass that looks like crap.
     
  21. veggiedude macrumors newbie

    veggiedude

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #21
    get a MIFI for your iPad

    A MIFI unit is a portable 3G station, I think they run around $400 or more. It allows up to 5 devices to get on the net, and it acts as a WIFI hub.

    There is the advantage of your iPad not knowing the source is 3G, so any app that is not suppose to work (or is limited with 3G service) will think it is a regular WIFI, and you get (the better and) regular WIFI experience.

    The other advantage is that you are not limited to ATT for 3G service.

    : )
     
  22. bosox2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #22
    Do you have the 3G iPad? I do, and TomTom's iPhone app works well.
     
  23. J273 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #23
    Does anyone know if this is the same for the iPhone 4?
     
  24. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #24
    Since iPhone 4 is using an A4 CPU, it is likely that it also contains other iPad components. In fact, I would expect it to be nearly identical to iPad in terms of its h/w architecture. So yes, it is likely that it will also have the Broadcom GPS chip.
     
  25. Lightstorm66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #25
    Good morning, all:
    If you jailbreak your iPad (takes about 7 seconds), you can download "FullForce" on Cydia (free). It 'attempts' to run each app at the full resolution on the iPad. For a lot of apps, it doesn't work well (especially games), but I use it on about 6 apps and they look great (Facebook, Luxology, Angry Birds...)

    Navigon is one of them. Although the UI looks a little funny (displays correctly with a lot of empty space) when you're inputting your destination, the maps look VERY nice (not double-pixeled).

    Just my $0.02...

    -Marc
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page