Need 32GB Laptop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maclamb, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. maclamb macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #1
    Due to my work (I run enterprise Middleware sw and databases) I need a laptop with more than 16GB.
    The new MBPs are maxed at 16.
    I found the dell M4600 that will take 32GB (4 dimm slots)
    Do you know of any other laptop that will support 32GB?
    I'd kinda prefer not to get a Dull.

    thanks
     
  2. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    ThinkPad W520 or W530 - no question.

    I prefer the W520 as it has a much better keyboard. It is also still available to buy new.
     
  3. spdntrxi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #3
    look at Lenovo, HP (elitebooks) , Sager maybe Alienware (dell)
     
  4. brian540 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
  5. sk8r1230 macrumors 6502

    sk8r1230

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #5
    Ivy bridge supports 32. The new MacBook non retina should unofficially support it.
     
  6. Callumbear845 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #6
    Only when 16GB DIMMs become available, probably not for a few years.
     
  7. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
  8. darwinian macrumors 6502a

    darwinian

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    In R4, more or less
    #8
    ... at the considerably more expensive 2x16 GB DIMM configuration, right? Not belittling this idea, just clarifying.
     
  9. maclamb thread starter macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    But that would require 2 16GB chips, yes? Are there any for these types of laptops?
     
  10. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #10
  11. maclamb thread starter macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #11
    I did thanks.
    in this case I have to pass b/c I can't handle that high a resolution screen , 13xx is about as far as my poot eyes will take me
    :(

    ----------

    these look like solid options, thanks.
     
  12. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    I believe a 32GB memory upgrade is like $2500 for those ThinkPads, while Alienware is $425. Wow, lenovo is ripping people off.

    Better option, but do yourself a favor and upgrade the ram yourself.
     
  13. sk8r1230 macrumors 6502

    sk8r1230

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #13
    Didn't realize they weren't available. Yes it would require 2x16 and yes it would be pricey but that's what happens when u need the cutting edge stuff unfortunately. Just trying to keep the op in the Mac family. :)
     
  14. leenak, Jun 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012

    leenak macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #14
    I thought that the new (non-Retina) MBPs could go up to 32GB of course I could be wrong. I'd recommend at looking at a custom built.

    Although this site is dedicated to gaming PCs, they can give you an idea of customizable laptops (Sager, MSI, Asus). You can even configure most of them up to 32GB
    http://www.xoticpc.com/

    Here is a list of their specific Ivy Bridge machines
    http://www.xoticpc.com/custom-gamin...eneration-mobile-processors-ct-95_51_399.html

    (Although honestly, unless you don't want to have to work through a network, I'd say get a Mac Air and build yourself a server to run your high demand programs)
     
  15. jimmyjones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #15
    I have to agree with this, I quite like my W520.
     
  16. wct097 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #16
    When my early 2011 MBP came out, nobody could get 16gb without spending something like $2500... these days it's easy. Bide your time, and it'll happen.
     
  17. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #17
    It's not always an option for someone to wait one and a half years for it to come down in price.
     
  18. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #18
    I disagree with a few years. They've been available in standard dimms for some time. Some vendor might make them in sodimm form factor, but you won't find them normally as they're not yet within a feasible cost range. I know it's higher in density, but that doesn't necessarily mean we'll have to wait for 32GB dimms to see 16GB sodimms. Even if it was $1000 to upgrade, someone would carry it.

    I give it a year, 2 at most.

    None as of yet.


    It's not that difficult to do the upgrade yourself. They're taxing you for providing the configuration. It's probably a lower volume system and they don't configure many that way.

    Not liking the chiclet keyboard in the new ones? I don't mind them as much. I work with a graphics tablet quite a lot. It's easier to navigate a keyboard for hotkeys like that (cue one handed typing jokes).
     
  19. Mac-Tech macrumors regular

    Mac-Tech

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #19
    Just curious,

    What do you need a 32GB of ram for? I mean 16GB is more then enough is that right? Say you use Adobe Premier, Final Cut X, Photopshop, Aperture, Any music production all Open at the same time. I think the 16GB can handle it pretty well. Correct me if I'm wrong.

    Wouldn't 16GB last you about 5-6years in a 15" RMBP?

    Thanks
     
  20. xxcysxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #20
    Be careful with xoctic pc, read the reviews and customer responses before dealing with them. I've almost pull a trigger on a well configured np9150 special edition through them because of their spectacular prices, but hold off and decided to pay a little more through direct distributor for a piece of mind sake. Just do your homework by reading their customers responses, and don't just jump the gun on cheap prices and buy yourself a bunch of headaches.
     
  21. Mac-Tech macrumors regular

    Mac-Tech

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
  22. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #22
    2011 15&17in support up to 32GB.
    But no such module exist yet.

    And we wont be seeing 4 RAM slotted laptop for a while.
    I suggest you build your own computer or get a iMac/MacPro
     
  23. elchemor macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi - UAE
    #23
    wow ! do people still buy those bulky and ugly laptops ! they remind me of the 2000 and late laptops !
     
  24. InfinitiG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
  25. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #25
    Sandy Bridge already supports 32GB.
    Haswell might possibly go up to 64GB but I doubt it.
     

Share This Page