Need advice. Can't make a decision.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vbman213, May 24, 2010.

?

Which configuration should I get?

1. 15" i7 - Standard Resolution Glossy

2 vote(s)
    4.5%
  2. 15" i7 - Standard Resolution Glossy w/ after-market AG film

4 vote(s)
    9.1%
  3. 15" i7 - High Resolution Glossy

13 vote(s)
    29.5%
  4. 15" i7 - High Resolution Glossy w/ afer-market AG film

1 vote(s)
    2.3%
  5. 15" i7 - High Resolution Anti-Glare

24 vote(s)
    54.5%
  1. vbman213 macrumors 6502

I'm a student and I'm looking into purchasing a Macbook Pro for college this coming fall. Not only for college, but this will be my main computer. The only factory upgrades I will be doing are those that I can't change down the road (CPU, GPU, Display, etc.). So with that said, the 15" i7 is my first choice.

I will eventually get an opti-bay, SSD, 8gb ram, etc.

I'm am an enthusiast. More of a "prosumer". I'm a freelance software developer, network administrator, and technician.

The real thorn in my side right now is which display option? I've always used "matte" style screens. My iMac is a white Core 2 Duo, which shipped before Apple started with the glossy screens on iMacs. I'm not entirely sure though. The glossy screens (black bezel) look so much better. And I've also heard/read that the glass adds structural support to the LCD panel. But I have a feeling that the glossy is going to be "too" glossy". Are there any decent anti-glare films for glossy displays on the market?

Also, how "small" is the high res. The nearest Apple Store is a 1:30 hour drive away. Might be worth me actually going to the store. I'd be willing to sacrifice 3 hours of driving if it helped me avoid a 10% restocking fee if I make the wrong decision...

I feel like I am going to have to throw a dart at a dart board, and hope I don't make a $200+ mistake (restocking)

2. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

ziggyonice

This is one of the most debated topics on all of MacRumors. Be warned.