Need advice on more storage space

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by baryon, May 30, 2011.

1. baryon macrumors 68040

baryon

I have a late 2008 15 inch MacBook Pro with a 320 GB hard drive inside, and a 500 GB Western Digital MyBook external USB drive.

The external is partitioned so that there's a 200 GB partition for storage, and 300 GB for Time Machine.

It all worked fine but now I'm running very low on space, as I'm a photography student and I have loads of gigantic Photoshop files and tens of thousands of high resolution photos, many of which are RAW. That is to say, I cannot delete any of that, it's more important than anything.

Now the way I do things is I keep almost everything on the internal drive, and let Time Machine back it up, so that I have a backup of everything I don't want to loose. The 200 GB partition on the external is for storing videos and stuff that I don't care much about.

Now the thing is I could buy a 2 TB external drive, but I would still have to move much of my stuff from the internal to the new external, and I would therefore not have 2 copies of that data. I don't want 2 externals backing up each other either, as I travel a lot and they won't fit in my suitcase (not to mention I can't afford that), and my MacBook Pro doesn't even have enough USB ports for that (the 2 ports are already constantly in use).

I don't have much money so I can either buy something like a 2 TB external and that's it, or maybe a 1 TB internal and a 1 TB external.

I've thought about replacing the optical drive with a hard drive, but then I would need to buy an external optical drive which I can't afford both in money and in physical space. I barely ever use my optical drive but I do need it 2-3 times a year.

My question is: what do other people do to have enough space while still being able to back everything up at least once? What do you recommend?

2. KwanMan macrumors regular

What do you need the optical drive for?

3. DustinT macrumors 68000