Need advice: quit playing Minecraft?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Siobhan98, Jun 4, 2016.

1. Siobhan98 macrumors member

I have been playing minecraft for 3 years now with someone, anyway I want to quit minecraft but I know this person I have been playing with will be mad, they know some private things about me I don't want anyone else to know but and I know they will tell my children as they have their email addresses, if you was me would you continue playing and have a boring life or just quit and be nice about it and worst case scenario they tell me children.

Thanks

2. PineapplePound macrumors newbie

I say you leave and tell your children what you did what was so bad

3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

I don't understand, why would this person be mad and then tell your children that you quit playing a game? Is there some consequence to the kids knowing you stopped playing a video game?

4. Siobhan98 thread starter macrumors member

the last friend of theres who quit minecraft had a letter sent to their mother with a load of lies and this person was kind about it

5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

No, @SandboxGeneral, I suspect that it is a case of some degree of emotional blackmail. An implied, or possible, threat whereby the other person may well react with the response by saying, well, feel free to stop playing the video game but I will tell your kids some of the stuff you told me about yourself, if you choose to do that.

To the OP: Emotional blackmail is a horrid threat to hold over anyone. Is this an implied threat? An actual threat? Or, just one that you fear may occur as a possible worst consequence?

Either way, it does not reflect well on the nature of the relationship with your playing partner. And - if the threat of emotional blackmail, implied or articulated - is real, it may be time to pull the plug on that relationship.