Need Help Becoming a Post-Production Master - Resources?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Ahheck01, May 26, 2011.

1. Ahheck01 macrumors 6502

I'm currently using Final Cut Pro 7, and although I've been using it for a couple years now and have taught myself the basics, I have a LOT to learn about post production.

I'm a one man show video production manager at the company I work for. Just purchased a maxed out i7 27" iMac (upgraded to 16gig RAM aftermarket), and will be going with Final Cut Pro X when it comes out.

The thing is, I'm almost 100% self taught. I want to be fast, efficient, but most importantly, I want the finished product to make it clear to both the untrained and the trained eye that I know what I'm doing. I want to do a great job for the company I work for.

Since no tutorials etc are out yet for FCPX, I figure I should wait on app specific learning. What can I learn in the meantime - what resources should I tap into? Preferably free, but this is my profession, so small investments are just that - investments.

Many thanks!

2. THX1139 macrumors 68000

THX1139

You should never base a career off what software you use. Instead, learn about what it takes to be a good editor and study the edits of classic movies and documentaries. Ask yourself why they are so good. Read a good book or two on editing. Watch a documentary or two about the edit process. There are a bunch of good ones out there.