NEED HELP! My SSD has disapeared!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by camglegg, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. camglegg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I was running my OS from a 96gig OCZ Vertex SSD and it crashed and now it has disapeared.

    I was luckily running an OS from another Hard drive in my tower but I would really like to figure out what has happened and fix my drive.
    I have tried using disk utility from my other drive to find the missing drive but alas it cannot be found.
    I am running the SSD from the empty CD Drive because it is a 2.5' drive and I use the computer for Video Editing mostly.
    The Dive had 44.5 gigs left on it (I dont know if that is helpful info). If anyone has any help they can give me please let me know.

    Cheers!:apple:
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    this is a dirt cheap piece of of gear.



    http://www.thermaltakestore.com/blacx-n0020028.html


    it is 10 bucks i always have a few to test "bad drives"

    you have a working osx on another drive.

    1) first power the machine off.
    2)pull the bad ssd
    3) boot with the good hdd
    4) plug the ssd in the thermaltake
    5) if the drive shows up clone it onto a blank drive
    6) this is why I have a few of the thermaltakes
    7) boot the clone
    8) if the clone boots reboot with the other good osx
    9) remove the clone
    10) see if the ssd boots if it boots I would say check permissions repair them and try using it again.


    11) if it does not boot but is recognized you have a few options
    12) you could zero erase it re partition it and do a new install on it.

    Some will say don't zero erase a ssd with mac's secure erase it is not the ideal way to restore a ssd. while that is true your situation is different you haver some type of problem and an clean ssd that is a little slow is better then no ssd at all. are your under warranty?
     
  3. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I will second the purchase suggestion. I have one (though an eSata model) that I use for archiving and fixing bad OSX and Linux discs. It's a lifesaver, ESPECIALLY if you're trying to retrieve data...
     
  4. hugodrax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
  5. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #5
    Yeah... That's really helpful.... /sarcasm
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    That is possible.

    @OP: Does it show up in System Profiler? If it does how much capacity is it reporting?

    If it doesn't, I hope you have a backup… because you might have to get a replacement.
     
  7. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    I would go to the OCZ forums, they are really helpful and knowledgable over there, and some OCZ employees will chime in from time to time (but search first, fair warning). Also, if you don't have the current firmware, head over there, pick it up, and update it (note: if you've never updated your drive's firmware, chances are it will be a destructive update, so hopefully you have all your data backed up). That did wonders for my vertex turbos...
     

Share This Page