Need help (not trying to steal or mislead)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by donttell, Jan 30, 2011.

1. donttell macrumors newbie

Guys i'm new to this, so if I ask questions that seem dumb or noob-like, I apologize. I was referred to this site for further advice on what to do. I did some reading for a couple hours, but didn't find the exact answer I was looking for.

Here's the deal. I and a butt load of others just got laid off from a job that I really had good intentions of doing well in. I have an iphone 3gs and have had it for about 4 months. I got it from radio shack for like $99. It's been great, but money is tight, and I need to adjust to the circumstances. A friend told me that I can go to walmart and buy a gophone and simply take the sim card out of the iphone and install it into the gophone. However, he did note that this is true for traditional att phones and he was unsure about the iphone since the iphone has a required data plan. I can get a phone at walmart for like $10. I'd like to remove the $25 a month i'm paying for 2gb of data. As noted in the title, I don't want to appear or come off as a corner-cutter or a thief.

Can I do this? If I can, could I get some pointers on how to go about it?

2. thelatinist macrumors 603

thelatinist

You can do this, but you will not be able to put the SIM back in your iPhone. You will have to continue to use the GO Phone as long as you wish not to have the data plan. As soon as you put the SIM back in your iPhone, AT&T will add the data plan back on.

If you wish to continue to use your iPhone, the best you can do is switch to the $25/200MB plan if you are on the 2GB one. You'll save $10/month.

3. donttell thread starter macrumors newbie