Need Help Putting Files On Mac OS 7.1

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ExcelMitsuo, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. ExcelMitsuo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #1
    i just bought my first mac and it's a Macintosh Classic with 4 MB RAM And 80 MB Hard Drive. It has a (i think) SuperDrive and right now i tried putting stuffit expander in it but it seems to not work. Right now if you guys can help me put 1 file on "Grandpa Mac" then i have progress. Programs I tried (HFV Explorer, WinImage, And TransMac).
    Thanks!!!
     
  2. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #2
    Well congratulations on your first Mac. I probably would have gone with something more... modern. But hey, to each his own.

    What type of files exactly are you trying to put on it? You can just use a floppy, but if I remember correctly it's got to be an 800k. Have you been able to get this far?
     
  3. ExcelMitsuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #3
    I thought you could use 1.44 HD (I guess that's why the DD Floppy Formatted).
    Well I Really want to install 7.5 so i could use the PC Exchange App but i'm not sure how to make a Mac OS Formatted Floppy on PC.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    The Classic did come with a 1.44MB (HD) floppy drive. According to MacTracker, it had a 40MB drive from the factory.

    On the PC side, the floppy needs to be formatted as HFS, not HFS+. Maybe that'll help. From what I can find, HFVExplorer can do that.

    It's been awhile, but I believe there was a 3rd party app to do "PC Exchange" before Apple included it in the OS. Can't remember what it was though. That's a Catch-22, though, since you wouldn't be able to get the app on the Mac anyway.

    Maybe you can find someone local who can make you a copy of 7.5 (like a local Mac Users Group).

    Sounds like a fun project, though.
     
  5. ExcelMitsuo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #5
    i just got it to work!! after telling it to format a 1.44MB Flop 50 times it finally formated. Before it kept saying (Verifying.....Re-Verifying...FAIL) Now BOOM! Works And I'm using Transmac To Transfer Programs to the Flop.Thanks Guys You May Now Close.
     

Share This Page