Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nim6us

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 20, 2012
I'm new to Apple and I'm trying to understand how my Macbook is using memory. I have 4GB it says I'm using 3.91GB but 1.41GB is inactive. If it's inactive, doesn't that mean it's not being used? It says I only have 88MB free, so that leads me to think I need to upgrade my memory. I'm just concerned that if I do it will say I'm using 7.91GB and 5.41GB is inactive because the inactive memory is queued just waiting to be used.

VB0Lgvd.png

So what does inactive mean, and if these are my normal stats should I upgrade my memory to 8GB?

Laco

macrumors 6502
Apr 23, 2008
I'm new to Apple and I'm trying to understand how my Macbook is using memory. I have 4GB it says I'm using 3.91GB but 1.41GB is inactive. If it's inactive, doesn't that mean it's not being used? It says I only have 88MB free, so that leads me to think I need to upgrade my memory. I'm just concerned that if I do it will say I'm using 7.91GB and 5.41GB is inactive because the inactive memory is queued just waiting to be used.

So what does inactive mean, and if these are my normal stats should I upgrade my memory to 8GB?

The main way to establish if you need more ram is to examine your pages out. If you have a lot then you will benefit from more ram. I had a lot and then I upgrade to 16 ram and now I have zero (byes) and my computer feels much faster.

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
Here is an explanation of the different memory readings you see.

Below from the article:

Inactive:

This information is in RAM but it is not actively being used, it was recently used.