Need help upgrading some Powermacs I bought for next to nothing.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by funkymunky65, Sep 23, 2014.

1. funkymunky65 macrumors newbie

This is my first time posting here, so please tell me if I do something wrong.

Last week I acquired several Apple computers for $2-5 a piece.
    Yes, you read that right, $2 to $5 each.

All of them worked too, but were missing a few easy to find parts. (HDDs, RAM sticks, etc)

Here's a list of all the macs I got and their technical specifications:

Powermac G4 500MHz
    896MB RAM (512+256+64+64)
    10GB HDD
    Nvidia GeForce2 MX 32MB
    DVD-RAM drive
    ZIP-100 drive
    Mac OS X 10.4.11

Powermac G4 400MHz
    128MB RAM
    8GB HDD
    ATI Rage 128 16MB
    DVD-ROM drive
    ZIP-100 drive
    Mac OS 9.2.2

The HDDs I put in the Powermacs were spares I happened to have. Both Powermac G4s are completely functional.

Powermac G3 266MHz beige desktop

That's really all I know about this one, it doesn't have a VGA card so I can't check anything, and it's missing the HDD. I'm thinking of either buying a PCI card compatible with this system or building a DA15->VGA adapter.
    I noticed it had a weird card in it with composite and s-video inputs/outputs though.

So, with all that said, I need some tips on upgrading these computers.

What would be a good, bootable, SATA PCI (PCI-X preferred) card that the Powermac G4s could use? The IDE HDDs I have don't have a lot of life left in them, and they are fairly slow, especially when playing Quake 3. I don't think the GPU, CPU or RAM are at fault, because it only lags when the HDD is being accessed.

The fastest CPU upgrades I've found are the dual 500Mhz cards, which go fairly cheaply on eBay. The hard part is finding the larger heatsink for it. Unless there is a faster CPU upgrade card I haven't heard of, does anyone know where I can go to find the heatsink that doesn't cost an unreasonable price?