Need help urgently

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gadgetgirl85, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    So I am attempting to install vista in bootcamp but I didnt make the partition big enough so I want to start over. Now I can't get the CD out and dont know what I should do.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Reboot holding the mouse button down (or trackpad button) to get the disc out. I have a feeling the Boot Camp app will let you remove the partition meaning you can create a new one that is larger. :)
     
  3. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #3
    Restart the computer while holding down the mouse button.

    EDIT: You sunofabitch! Mad Jew, you had to have been about three seconds faster on that one! Damnit!
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #5
    It keeps saying no bootable device insert boot disk and press any key?


    Ok essentially I dont want to install windows yet because I havent created a partition big enough but I dont know how to get back?
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    So it needs your OSX disc then. You reformatted, right? Have you installed OSX yet?
     
  7. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #7
    Give her my regards.

    That sounds more like a BIOS error than anything. Macs flash a question mark inside a folder when they cannot find a startup drive.

    If the CD is out, insert a Tiger disc.
    If the CD is still in, hold down option.
    You can also try restarting and holding down option anyways... that will force it to list all bootable devices.
     
  8. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    Slow down slow down :p Im up to the part where I have to create a partition however vista requires 5.7GB and I only partitioned 5. So now I want to get back to OSX and delete the partition but I dont know how to get there from this windows installation thingy because when I reboot it just goes back to the installation
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Restart holding OPTION to list the bootable devices, as the hairy yet incredibly handsome Mechcozmo said. If installed correctly, this should show you the OSX partition.
     
  10. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #10
    It sounds like it's trying to boot to Windows.

    Restart holding down the Option key. You should see your OS-X partition. Select it and click the continue button under the OS-X drive icon to boot back to OS-X. Then, you should be able to eject the CD from the finder.

    The mouse button has to be held down until the CD ejects.

    edit: whew, I'm slow too :)
     
  11. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #11
    OOoooooohhhh.

    Restart and hold "X" down. That'll go into OS X. If that doesn't work, then hold down option to list all bootable doohickies. Then click which one you want and go!
     
  12. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #12
    PHEW! This is hairy stuff thanks guys I'll post if I get into more pickles :p
     
  13. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #13
    Hey now, some of us have issues with hair. Watch that language.:rolleyes:
     
  14. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  15. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    Other than my bluetooth keyboard and mouse arent working despite installing the drivers?

    Edit: Got it. Works great other than installing CDs are a pain and sometimes dont work
     
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16
    Well done! Are they the stock Apple mouse and keyboard? :)
     

Share This Page