Need Honest Opinion on what to get

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FilipMil, Aug 15, 2008.

1. FilipMil macrumors member

Hows it going everyone, I'm a Second Year student in University, Architecture program and i am having a problem choosing my first Mac. Heres the issue:

I saved up $3,500 this summer which will be going towards my new laptop. I waited through first year and now i realized that a home computer is not going to cut it, so I'm sort of in a transition between another PC Laptop, or a brand new first time Macbook Pro(the revision hopefully coming in Sept.)

Now the issue is, as an Architecture student, i use CAD. yes, and the only way to use CAD programs on a Mac is through Bootcamp or VMware Fusion. Now i was going to purchase a Macbook Pro (current one) but i heard about the GPU problems and such, so i decided il wait a little longer.

Now i found two great computers and i need your serious opinion, please dont respond GO for MAC, MACs rule, or PC's suck. anyway both computers are going to have 4GB RAM(unless more available on new macbook pro), highest possible graphics card, and it is going to be a 15.4". My PC choice is the Alienware M15X.

The reason i love mac so much is the operating system, the security, cleanliness and i know it will last me for at least as long as im in University. I would consider the PC due to the fact that i dont need to split partition my HDD or have a virtual machine running to use AutoCAD.

So please, any professionals in the feilds of Interior Design or Architecture, and yes of course all the opinionated MAC users, please give me the most logical opinion, thanks.

2. Baffles macrumors regular

Honestly, I'd say go for the Mac. I just took the plunge and am loving it. In my opinion, Alienware is some of the most overpriced crap out there with HORRIBLE support. I have heard many horror stories about them.