Need large size drive for Time Machine

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Luba, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. Luba macrumors 6502a

    Luba

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I am thinking of using a Buffalo Technology Linkstation Quad as my Time Machine drive. Safety-wise of my data, what's better RAID 10 or RAID 5? Also what do you think of Buffalo equipment?

    If the software or hardware controllers in the Buffalo enclosure were to go bad would I lose all data under a RAID 10 or RAID 5 setup? Would I lose data if it was a RAID 1 (mirror) setup? 

    If data safe under RAID 1 if software or hardware controllers went bad then I would get an external HDD that used RAID 1.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    RAID 5 will give you more storage I think. RAID 1 or 10 would only give you half of the storage so e.g. 4x2TB would be 4TB while with RAID 5, it would be 6TB (usable disk space will be less in both though).

    I don't think you will lose any data if the controller craps out. The data will still be in the HDs.

    How much storage are we looking at anyway? There are 3TB drives nowadays
     
  3. FireWire2 macrumors 6502

    FireWire2

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #3
    I dont know about your choice there:
    http://www.amazon.com/Buffalo-Techn...1?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=0&filterBy=addOneSta

    This product not get a very good review
     
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4

Share This Page