Need MacBook with 2.5TB storage.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ZBoater, Nov 8, 2014.

1. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

So my research has led me to a used MacBook or a new MacBook Pro 13" with the old body style that Apple still sells. Put 500GB SSD and a 2TB spinning drive where the SuperDrive is.

Anyone here done that?

2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

If you get a 2TB HD, be sure that it will fit. Some of them are too thick.

3. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

ZBoater

I was at the Apple Store today. That 13" MacBook Pro non retina is a nice laptop. If it had the Intel 5000 video I would have bought it. But I have a MBA now and taking a step back in video (I use a TB display) is a bridge too far.

I guess I'm stuck using external drives for my media. Ratz.

4. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

RoastingPig

5. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

ZBoater

6. Tobias Funke macrumors 6502a

Tobias Funke

I went from 500gb+SuperDrive to 256gb ssd+1.5tb hd to 2tb hd plus superdrive! :D

Storage and cd drive was more important to me than speed! :D

7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

Yes, any superdrive replacement will need an appropriate bracket to hold it in place and convert the SATA connector pinouts

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

8. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

ZBoater

I can live without the SuperDrive, and I have an external one for my MBA. I can't go back to spinning disks on my main drive. The MBA spoiled me. But a SSD / big spinning drive combo would work, but I'm not sure whether to get a new 13" MacBook Pro or buy a slightly used one with better graphics, 15 or 17.

9. simonsi macrumors 601

simonsi

Remember the "better" graphics in 2011 15" and 17" models suffer GPU failures like no tomorrow...

10. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

KUguardgrl13

Yep be really careful buying used. If you need that much internal storage and can't live with external drives, I'd go with a refurbished mid-2012 MBP. No sense in paying new prices for old tech.