Need some final convincing before I take the plunge

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dball4, Jul 8, 2010.

1. dball4 macrumors regular

I'm at a crossroads right now and I need advice. Last week my father approached me and let me know that it's time for me get off the family plan from US Cellular and that I am to go it on my own. I began shopping around and narrowed it down to Sprint EVO 4G, the HTC Desire from US Cellular (comes out in August) or the iPhone 4. After exhaustingly looking through all the phones and comparing them, I still can't make up my mind. If I get the Evo, I get on Sprint's network and get Unlimited Text's, Data, mobile to mobile for every carrier for $79. If I get the Desire I get free incoming everything and 1000 minutes and 200 texts for $85-$95 a month. If I get the iPhone I can get for $75, 900 minutes, 2GB of data, 200 texts with the FAN discount for being a student.

Since I am a college student the monthly cost is important because the less I spend the better off I am, since I will have groceries and other expenses to worry about. I do have a job so I will have some money coming in during school.

I've looked at coverage maps and talked to friends who have all three and they said that US Cellular was the best overall, but AT&T and Sprint were just as good in Illinois, specially the Quad Cities and Springfield where I will spend most of my time.

Now is the part where you come in, what should I do? Should I get the iPhone which would save me a few bucks a month or should I go elsewhere? I've always desired having an iPhone, but I like what I see in Android based phones and if I switch carriers I don't know what to expect or what I would be getting into. Can you please give me advice on what you would do in my situation.

2. The General macrumors 601

3. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

If Verizon is better in your area, get the Droid. If AT&T is better, get the iPhone 4. Forget the Evo and Sprint.