New 2.0 Macbook vs. 2.16 Macbook Purchase

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MountainMamma, Jul 29, 2007.

1. MountainMamma macrumors newbie

I'm a college teacher whose 5 yr. old 14" G3 iBook just died. So, it's time to replace the well-loved workhorse with another that I hope lasts me just as long. I really need to get the most value for my dollars since this is an unanticipated expense (I know--5 yrs old & I thought it wouldn't need replaced soon?) on top of an expensive year financially for me. I have to buy within a few weeks since I must have it ready to go for school the third week in Aug. I will be using it primarily for word processing, powerpoint lecture presentations, internet, & statistical analyses, so I can't decide whether or not to go with the base 2.0Ghz model or the middle priced 2.16Ghz model. On the face of it, it seems that I should spend the extra $200 to get the superdrive & larger hard drive, but would it be better to use that $200 to upgrade the base model's RAM to 2 GB? I won't be using it for games, but admit that I would like to be able to burn onto DVD some of the movies I've bought from iTunes, but could always buy an external dvd burner later if I really felt the need.

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

Get the SuperDrive model. You can add more RAM later.

3. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

Agreed. In the long run, the Superdrive will serve you better.

4. aethelbert macrumors 601

I had the same problem recently. I decided to go for the 2.16 model. It's running really well on 1GB, so you should be fine on that. It will be even better with 2GB. But remember, you can't upgrade the CPU to 2.16, and getting a Superdrive in the future would be VERY expensive. Upgrading the hard drive would be another cost in the future as well. I say get the midgrade model and get the RAM later. That is what I decided on, so I am somewhat biased.

Either way you go, though, you'll be getting a great computer.