New 2015 iMac with no regrets

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Delorean2006, Dec 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Delorean2006 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    I've been a Mac user since my first MacBook Pro in 2010 and then upgraded to a 2012 Macbook Pro and after 4.5 years that laptop died over the weekend and since I my computer is part of my daily life I couldn't be without a computer for long. I went to check out the new 15" MacBook Pro with TB and I just thought, I am not going to need a laptop whenever I go away anywhere, so lets take a look at the iMac. Since, I use my DSLR over the summer a lot, I do use the SD Card slot all the time, though I had 4K monitor already, I saw the iMac monitor and I already saw how much better the 5K display was compared to my monitor and I did like the glossy finish a lot. I ended up getting the 5K iMac with the 2TB Fusion Driver, 3.3ghz i5 and the R9 M395 graphics card, I will be upgrading to either 24gb or 32gb of ram in the future. After setting everything up, I am extremely happy with my purchase, I have standard USB Ports, the SD Card slot and it is a massive upgrade over my Macbook Pro. Everything ran smoother and I just couldn't get over how good everything looked on the screen, especially my photos and any video I had taken. Knowing a refresh is around the corner, with Apple transitioning over to USB Type-C, with the performance of this iMac while retaining all the ports I enjoy using on a daily basis, I couldn't be happier with the most powerful computer I can proudly own.
     
  2. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    The 5K iMac is a beautiful machine. Greatest desktop ever made.
     
  3. cl516 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    I'm in the same boat, bought a new iMac this month, no regrets. I do audio, and in fact if i wait for the newest machine next year, most of the plugins and 3rd party stuff wouldn't be close to being ready. I still have plugins now that aren't Sierra compatible!

    But the best part has been being able to really use all my software to its fullest potential, going from a MacPro3,1 to a iMac17,1 27" 4.0GHZ 32GB Ram 512GB SSD M395, and then adding iPad Pro as 2nd display with Duet Display. No regrets here.
     
  4. MacStu09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #4
    Happy the OP likes it, but just couldn't resist being the contrarian when I saw that statement "greatest desktop ever made." "Best looking" would be a much better fit.

    I mean...it has an M395 in it, lol. So, it's already leagues behind literally every other high end desktop. It's still beyond me why Apple is using the M395. Performing at 1/2 the level of $250 gpu's of 3 years ago. That belongs in a $500 computer. There's just no reason anyone should ever have to pay $2,000+ for something with a bottleneck like that built-in. One of my current frustrations with modern Apple products.
     
  5. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Well, yeah, the M395 is a subpar card, there's no doubt about that.

    Frankly it is an outright disgrace that Apple can't implement better graphics options in the iMacs, to be sure.

    But this is still the greatest desktop there is, no doubt about that.

    An iMac with a better graphics processor would be better, undoubtedly, and we will be waiting for that to happen, in the meantime.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Same here. I have the M395/2TB Fusion machine and its been the best computer I've owned. Fast, gorgeous, expansive display. I have had no buyers remorse with this bad boy :)
     
  7. Delorean2006 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    #7
    For me the m395 does work because it does everything i ask of it, also coming from the 330m GT, it's a massive upgrade. I know there are better cards apple could have stuck in there but for my uses and the light gaming I'll ever do on the machine, it does the job for me, plus for gaming, I use my XBOX instead, I'm a casual gamer so I don't need to go overboard.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Same here, and I was playing Fallout New Vegas (under windows) and the performance was good. I didn't have the detail or resolution turned all the way up (I forget what the settings were), but I was happy with it.
     
  9. sboychuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    #9
    I have had a lot of Mac's and Apple products. I am still using my 17-inch MacBook Pro. I also recently picked up a new iMac (27-inch, 4.0 Ghz, 32 GB of Crucial RAM, 3TB FD, M395X) and it is the best Mac I have ever used and the screen looks great. I run Windows 10 through Parallel's which seems to do a good job. Just need it to run Quicken. What I liked about the older Mac's is that they are easier to take apart and fix, which is what I have done to my 24-inch Imac and my old MacBook Pro. While it would be nice if Apple put more powerful GPU's in them, I have not needed anything more. The whole Apple experience is more important to me than having the most powerful and fastest computer. It all just works. OP, enjoy your iMac and all the ports it has, I know I will be for years to come.
     
  10. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    I've only tried playing one game on my iMac M395 since buying and that was Skyrim, I was able to play on ultra settings at 2560. Not really looking to game in higher resolution than that, anyway (seems unnecessary?)

    And other than that I haven't even used the GPU besides for the basic animations in OS X.

    My point is more that, as far as graphics cards go, the M395 is nothing special.

    It's not that good, and they could've put in one of the mobile nvidia options (which are as good as desktop version) if they really cared about making a good machine but they don't.
     
  11. jadot macrumors 6502

    jadot

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I did the same thing - bought a maxed out 27" to last me for hopefully another 4 years. It replaces a Late 2012 27".
    So the jump to 5K is significant.
    I have to say though, that running that many pixels does seem to be putting a strain on the CPU or probably GPU. RAM is taking a hit too. In many ways, apart from the resolution, my previous iMac was running much faster than this machine.
    It's not dead, but it's hard to see an improvement in performance at the moment.
     
  12. Gabrielanicolao macrumors member

    Gabrielanicolao

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #12
    I'm using the 5K iMac it is wonderful, I have never any problem with it.
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    2015 2tb fusion iMac looks to be a fine machine for the years ahead.

    I'm wondering if we'll see as many folks spring for the 2015 iMacs just after the 2016s are announced (as those who took a critical look at the 2016 MBPros, and then... bought a 2015 instead)?
     
  14. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #14
    Sounds like you have no idea what other computer manufacturers are making these days. It doesn't even come close to the greatest desktop ever made.
     
  15. mpe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #15
    Who do you think makes the best desktop these days?
     
  16. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #16
    wrong again
     
  17. AsprineTm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    #17
    My God, these forum post are so sad. I just bought something and I don't regret it.
    Do you think that there any PC users out there making forum posts like this.
    When reading such posts, and there are disturbingly many on this forum, I can only think of a sad Apple employee posting this. In a hope to keep the Mac is awsome branding up.
    Same with MacRumors frontpage.
     
  18. Lankyman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    U.K.
    #18
    Plenty of good specialist PC makers out there where you can configure just what you want/need. The world's your oyster rather than Apple telling you what your world is going to be like.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 28, 2016 ---
    Well having analysed all your reasoned arguments for why you say this, then who I am to argue. :rolleyes:
     
  19. Appleaker macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #19
    Apples transition to Thunderbolt 3 isn't a reason to be happy with buying the iMac now rather than waiting for the early 2017 model.

    For a laptop it is a hassle, and for a professional laptop it is almost disgraceful. But for any desktop, it really doesn't matter. In fact it is a good thing: you can have almost any other port you would want, not to mention external hardware such as storage and GPUs.

    Obviously it is a negative if you're moving your iMac around often.
     
  20. fusionid, Dec 28, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016

    fusionid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    #20
    the only reason to wait is that you want SSD and don't want to pay the incredibly ridiculous upcharge in 2016. SSD are the standard for OS drive and have been for the several years now. NO they are not expensive nowadays. They were 4 years ago when the price scheme was created.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 28, 2016 ---
    and don't tell me how fusion drives are the solution to all problems because they are not. They are **** for loading samples and playing them in logic X. No point to it as of now and it needs to go away
     
  21. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    got my 4 ghz 27" retina iMac a year ago. it's been my favorite, most reliable/stable, fastest mac to date. It's a great machine. I don't tax it too hard, but i do use it for Xcode, lightroom, as a plex server in addition to the standard stuff
     
  22. mpe, Dec 28, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016

    mpe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #22
    There is nothing Intel related in Fusion. You are probably confusing it with Intel Turbo memory or Smart Response which is a completely different thing.

    Fusion It is 100% software solution powered by Core Storage LVM layer in macOS. If anything it is similar tech to lvmcache or bcache in Linux.
     
  23. Appleaker macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #23
    Is there a reason why it appears (to me at least) that I have been quoted?
     
  24. Appleaker macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #25
    Thanks, I was a bit confused :D
     

Share This Page