new apple tv remote and universal control

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by protobiont, Oct 8, 2015.

  1. protobiont macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #1
    I like the idea of using the new Apple TV as my primary media viewing device, but I don't think my TV or receiver utilize CEC. Are there any systems in place that would allow you to use the new ATV remote with something like the harmony hub to turn on the TV and receiver (and control volume)? IFTTT or home kit integration perhaps?

    I hate the idea of using two remotes, but don't want to give up the siri features and touch surface of the ATV remote to control my entertainment system.

    I wish Apple would have just offered an optional enhanced remote with more universal control features.
     
  2. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #2
    I'm wondering about controlling everything with it also. Have you learned more?
     
  3. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #3
    Too complicated.

    Apples entire moto is simplier is more approachable.
     
  4. protobiont thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #4
    Except that 3-4 different remotes is more complicated. If apple decided to revolutionize the remote world it would have been great.
     
  5. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #5
    I'm guessing that those of us wanting "one remote to rule them all" will have to hope that the good universal remote manufacturers adopt the special elements of Apple's new remote instead of hoping the latter adopts the "universal" controls of "everything else". I suspect that will be the quickest path to a "one remote" that can still leverage the unique elements of the new one from Apple. I'm hoping Universal Remote Control Inc and/or Logitech has taken notice and will roll out a complete (single) solution soon.
     
  6. 2010mini macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #6
    The new Apple TV has an IR sensor and Apple has stated it works with the ATV 3 remote. If this is the case then the harmony remote should also work.
     
  7. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    I think this will be the first time in more years than I can remember that I'll be using two remotes.

    Yeah the Apple TV will work with my harmony hub for basic navigation, but I'll be keeping the Siri remote close to hand for voice search, those nice little, what did they say moments, as a controller for the odd game when I don't need to use my dedicated gaming controller and so on.

    I'd be surprised if anyone comes out with a completely universal remote that also incorporates all of the sensors/touch pad and microphone of the Apple remote. Surprised, but first in line to buy one :D
     
  8. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #8
    Why would you need so many remotes if ALL of you content comes via the ATV? That us my plan.
     
  9. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #9
    3-4 remotes for system components is your choice, not Apple's. You have some sort of fringe, enthusiast setup.

    If AppleTV can wake TV/receiver up, and put it back to sleep when done. Can survive with that as sole remote. Netflix, Hulu, Music, and iTunes rentals, + whatever new apps coming out all from 1 remote. Will be nice.

    It's designed to be a simplified system for cord cutting, no physical media millennials. No old school dvd players to switch to, no cable or satellite boxes to switch to. For simple systems.
     
  10. protobiont thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #10
    A TV(1) and receiver(2) more than a few years old (no CEC), a game console(3), and an Apple TV (4) is a "fringe, enthusiast setup"? Give me a break.
     
  11. protobiont thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #11
    That's my plan too, but neither my TV nor receiver support CEC. On rare occasion I want to watch a DVD or Blu-ray adding need to control the PS3 (which I can live without).

    It'd also be nice to control my lights, which the harmony remotes can do, but since they are homekit hopefully we'll see some support in the ATV.
     
  12. protobiont thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #12
    Unfortunately, it's unlikely that they'll make a track pad surface that will compete with Apple's implementation. Even the siri interface seems unlikely.
     
  13. kring macrumors regular

    kring

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #14
    I accidentally clicked on this thread, but now am a bit surprised that I'll need to also go multi-remote.. supporting ONLY HDMI-CEC is a major disappointment. Only TV's in the last year really have that capability... so the millions of people who own a 1080P and have no intention on upgraded will now need to have a separate remote to use the Apple TV...

    Very poor decision on Apple's part.
     
  14. protobiont thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #15
    Because laptop manufacturer's have had years to do so and have only started getting close. Also, because the market for such remotes will probably be too small for Logitech or similar companies to invest in creating such a solution.
     
  15. JoeShades macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ
    #16
    HDMI-CEC has been around for around 10 years, my 5 year old Tv has it. And you can pair another remote with it if you like. And it does not use HDMI-CEC to control volume.
     
  16. kring macrumors regular

    kring

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #17
    [QUOTE="JoeShades"[/QUOTE]

    Oh, so you can pair and IR remote (say TV) to the Apple TV Remote? and the ATV remote can beam the IR to power on the TV and adjust volume?

    FYI - I have a 1 year old LCD 50" from Samsung and it doesn't have CEC, so the spec for CEC might be around for 10 years but I don't think (from what I can see) is that it hasn't made it to mainstream hardware until just this year.
     
  17. protobiont thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #18
    If this is true, I wonder if it can power on the TV and the receiver (and control the volume only on the receiver).
     
  18. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19
    What model is your Samsung? I would be very surprised if it does not have HDMI-CEC. What causes some of this confusion is not everybody advertises it as CEC. Samsung calls their version Anynet+.

    For example, here is a shot of the spec on a 50" Sammy on Amazon.

    Screen Shot 2015-10-19 at 11.17.57 AM.png

    CEC is pretty wide spread on even the cheapest sets for the last few years.
     
  19. kring macrumors regular

    kring

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #20
    It's a Samsung UN50F5000, little over a year, I looked through online manual and didn't see anything about CEC or AnyNet.
     
  20. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    According to this PDF, it has HDMI-CEC.

    Screen Shot 2015-10-19 at 5.47.49 PM.png
     
  21. kring macrumors regular

    kring

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #22
    Thanks for looking into that for me, maybe Samsung main site just didn't advertise it. That's good news if I am all set.
     
  22. 2010mini macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #23
    HDMI-CEC is pretty standard today. I'ld be very surprised that any TV bought within the last 5 years doesn't have it.
     
  23. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #24
    I can turn on the tv by powering any of my devices on and it would automatically switch inputs. My Sony tv will also power on my B&W panorama and my tv is 4 years old.

    What exactly do you mean people who have no intention of upgrading their tv will need a separate remote to use the Apple TV? What remote other than the Apple TV remote you want to use to control the Apple TV?
     
  24. ke-iron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    #25
    There are tv's still sold without it. But as long as your tv isn't the most basic in the line up it should have it.
     

Share This Page