New AT&T Network Question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Wicked1, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Someone posted this on a thread, so I copied a line to get some clarification on what this means.

    HSDPA/HSUPA (7.2Mb/s and 5.4Mb/s respectively) and also a solid base for the HSPA+ network they will implement.


    Is that what AT&T is calling their new network, is this going to replace 3G?
     
  2. vizkiz macrumors 6502a

    vizkiz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #2
    I believe it's going to be 4G. As far as I know, when they get it up and running, AT&T will support HSDPA @ 7.2mbps, but uploads will not utilize HSUPA and (at least initially) will be stuck using a slower system, capped at 384kbps.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  3. tilmonabbott macrumors regular

    tilmonabbott

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Worcester Ma
    #3
    what HSDPA simply is, is a faster 3g, its not 4g but on its way there. if i remember correctly, 4g is going to be called LTE
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    Has anyone wondered why Sprint says "Now on the 4G network, Palm Pre?"
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    No. I posted that line. Those speeds are for 3.5G speeds. The HSPA+ is another stepping stone in 3G. Think of it as 3.75G. HSPA+ has a theoretical output of 21Mb/s down.

    4G is LTE, which can do 100Mb/s down and ~40Mb/s up.
     
  6. Goodeye macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #6
    Sprint is utalizing Wimax

    And that will be their version of 4G.

    Verizon and AT&T will be using a technology called LTE.

    So yes Verizon and AT&T will be using the same type of technology and Sprint well they are going to do their own thing and like normal probably fail.
     
  7. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
  8. deannnnn macrumors 68000

    deannnnn

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York City & South Florida
    #8
    The Palm Pre does NOT use a 4G network. Just to be clear.
     
  9. Goodeye macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #9
    Yes it does NOT currently cause Sprint hasn't rolled it out yet. But apparently it will be capable to use the 4G network once its fully rolled out. This is what Sprint has been saying.

    AT&T and Verizon MIGHT share, towers. Verizon, how I understanding it is building up much of the LTE network using all that bandwidth they bought from the digital transition.

    This would mean LTE phones from AT&T and verizon would be able to roam easily on each other networks. And in the case of verizon and and ALL LTE phones must be able to be used on their network as per their agreement when the purchased the extra bandwidth. Meaning if you had a AT&T LTE iPhone verizon would HAVE to allow you to use that phone on their LTE network if you were to switch to them.
     
  10. daihard macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    I remember reading an article that talked about AT&T starting to implement HSDPA in the SF Bay Area, but I have not followed up on it. Is there any truth to it?
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    In the SF area HSDPA has been implemented. It's up to 3.6Mb/s in general areas but the 7.2Mb/s upgrade is being deployed.
     
  12. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #12
    I saw another post about this and I listened closer to the commercial the next time I heard it. They're talking all about the Palm Pre, and then they say "On Sprint. The only network with 4g." So although I think it IS a deliberately confusing ad, I think what they mean is- the palm pre is on sprint. Sprint has 4g (but not with the palm pre :eek:).
     
  13. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #13
    I only mentioned it, because I think it IS deliberately misleading people. And yet, people complain about AT&T misleading people that MMS is available in the U.S (and I don't want to start that argument on this thread). Anyway, every time I see that commercial, I'm like wow, they're getting away with that? I can see your average user going to Sprint thinking, "okay, my phone might not be as good as the iPhone, but I have 4G!"
     
  14. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    I definitely agree, I think it is deliberately misleading! The only way I noticed it is that I saw a post here so I tried to construe it in a different way. Otherwise, I would have thought it was on the 4g network too.
     
  15. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #15
    Keep in mind that it could be a very long time until you see that, too. I've had an iPhone for 2 years and I switched from Verizon to AT&T to get it. My area had no 3G. Flash-forward two years and I still have no 3G. I'm immediately next to an interstate and the closest 3G to me just turned on a month ago with the edge being 35 miles away.

    So, if you're not in or most regularly use your phone in a 3G area now. It could be a long while before you get 3G and even longer than everyone else for 4G/LTE.
     
  16. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #16
    I live in a pure 3G area in NJ, and I usually have full bars as well as 3G all the time, however I do occasionally slip into Edge, but not for long. I also switch to WiFi a lot to get better speeds. I was on Verizon and their lack of good phones made me switch especially that their new Blackberry phones Don't have WiFi, plus I have Macs so it was easier.

    So far other then a few stupid little missing features I like the phone and I no longer have any issues with AT&T, I think it is compared to Verizon's 3G, my wife's Curve is not faster then my iPhone 3GS 32GB White.
     
  17. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #17
    Yep, and pigs know how to fly! :D
     
  18. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    That's not even technologically possible.
     
  19. SHIFTLife macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #19
    This is not only possible, but it's actually in use in some places. While they don't share the same transmission equipment, they do share the physical tower. In my hometown, there's a tower that has antennae on it operated by VerizonWireless, AT&T, T-Mobile, and Sprint/Nextel.

    In some municipalities, it's tougher to get individual towers pushed through, so they take to sharing physical towers. Many towns actually require this. Think about it, do you really want one tower for every carrier every two miles?
     
  20. LEGALROMA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #20
    Yeah I call bs.

    Show your speed. We will be lucky to see 3 mb/

    marketing crap.
     
  21. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #21
    I'm not an AT&T marketeer if thats what you are implying.

    Also, no one is going to see 7.2Mb/s in any market. 7.2Mb/s is a Theoretical speed concerning this type of upgrade. If AT&T choose too, the next theoretical speed benchmark would be the 14.4Mb/s, but they are not going there. They are jumping to HSPA+ to have a good 21Mb/s. Anyways, back to original comment. You are not going to see ever the maximum output because of cell site congestion, backhaul traffic, airwave noise, proximity to cell site and other factors that come inherent to any wireless connection.

    Also, I do not live in the SF area, I live in New Orleans area. I can see speeds of 3.4Mb/s. Although I see those in the night time 10:45PM+ to more or less 4:30AM. Daytime I can see 2Mb/s solid.
     
  22. vizkiz macrumors 6502a

    vizkiz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #22
    I call BS. When I was in NO in January, I saw nowhere near those speeds on any of the speedtest apps I ran.
    At least show a screenshot when you make a claim like that.
     
  23. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #23
    I'll link you to a speed test on my 3G data card. Give me a sec. Bear in mind the data card has an inherent limit of 1.8Mb/s

    Edit - Here it is

    [​IMG]

    Test was done in May. More or less around the time AT&T did the upgrades...

    Edit 2 - I did a speed test on my iPhone. Results:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #24
    Man ... I don't even come close to those on WiFi!
     
  25. vizkiz macrumors 6502a

    vizkiz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #25
    I can believe those speeds. I cannot, however, believe you see 3+Mbps, ever.


    How? Is your internet connection or router that bad? I see 6k+ on my wifi.
     

Share This Page