New house, water damage, not sure where to begin

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by sdilley14, Feb 3, 2016.

1. sdilley14, Feb 3, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2016

sdilley14 macrumors 65816

I bought a house and closed back on 12/28/2015. The inspection for the house revealed a leak at the water heater. The water heater is located in the garage, which is attached to the house. The little room in the garage that houses the water heater shares a wall with a bedroom in the house. So, prior to purchasing the home, we wrote in the offer that the water heater needed to be fixed. The seller supplied a receipt showing the work was done on the water heater. So I kinda just forgot about it.

Cut to about a week ago, I stumbled upon a pretty significant leak in the hose attached to the water heater. It was spraying water all over the wall in the garage (shared wall with the bedroom). I'm honestly not sure how long it had been leaking...I'm guessing for days. I'm not good with "handyman" type stuff at all. :/ I was able to twist the hose in such a way that it stopped the leak (for now).

However, now I'm seeing mold on the wall, water on the carpet in the bedroom, and now mold is showing along the trim inside the house/bedroom along the floor where the water came in. I'm guessing this isn't going to be a cheap project to get this cleaned up and repaired.

I'm wondering where to begin as far as getting this fixed? Do I call the company that came out to do the work on the water heater? Do I call my homeowners insurance company? Do I call my home warranty company (American Home Shield)? I obviously want to do this in such a way that I have to pay the least amount of money possible (hopefully none!).

Thoughts?

2. tobefirst macrumors 68040

tobefirst

I personally would start with the company that did the work on the water heater, especially if you have the receipt. They, in my mind, should take care of this for you straight away.

3. ProjectManager101 Suspended