New iMac or old Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Squicken, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Squicken macrumors member

So, i'm a video editor and have a mac mini. Now, the Mini really isnt doing it for me anymore. So my question is, should i buy a Mac pro from 2007 or 2008 for around $1300 refurbished from some website, or get a 21.5 inch imac for $1200 that's only dual core but has faster clock speed, turbo boost, and hyper threading? Im buying in summer so new imacs will probably be out by then, but what should i go for for video editing?? BTW the mac pro would have a clock speed of 2.66 ghz.

2. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

drewsof07

If you're just doing basic movie editing, stick with the iMac. Especially if all you can afford is a 2006 Mac Pro without any type of warranty (i.e. Applecare).

3. Squicken thread starter macrumors member

Well, im working with HD footage and the computer has to last me at least 5 years. The upgrade options on the imac are very slim.

4. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

chrmjenkins

They're the same on a near 5 year old Pro. You're not going to be able to upgrade the GPU and even though you can fit more RAM in that than an iMac, it won't help.

The answer is the iMac in either case. The only other answer is to up your budget.

5. cootersgarage6, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2011

No Pro

Don't get the Pro because it uses the intel core 2 duo. It's still good, but it's fading away rapidly and getting old. The clock speed is also lower than the iMacs. and the 07 or 08 mac pro would have been running leopard, which means when Lion comes out this summer, it would be originally 2 OPERATING SYSTEMS BEHIND.. Not good. Lol. When the new iMacs come out, they will be even faster. iMac al around.

6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

philipma1957

a 2010 iMac can have a 3.6ghz cpu if you wait for the summer you can get it for a good price

7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

Mackilroy