Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Is $1499 a bit much for this display, or am I better off with the 27" Dell 5K?

• Get this 38" 4K LG display, it's worth it.

Votes: 45 65.2%
  • Get the 27" 5K Dell display, it's a better value.

Votes: 24 34.8%

• Total voters

DrtyHarry

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 24, 2012
Drty Jrz
medium01.jpg

lgmonitors1-1500x1000.jpg

So LG is releasing a new 21:9 4K display (3840 x 1600) that is a whopping 38" big.

http://www.lg.com/us/monitors/lg-38UC99-W-ultrawide-monitor

I read a lot of great things about this display....I'm not a gamer, I'm a photographer and do a good amount of video editing and the display is said to have color of sRGB at over 99%. I have been torn for a while if I should grab one of these large 21:9 displays or get a 27" Dell 5K. I was going to get the 5K from Dell because the 21:9 displays were not even 4K until just as of recent. And now that the price of that display is far less than half from when it was first released...seamed like the way to go. And as a photographer/retoucher...I'm not so crazy about the curved display. Other guys in my line of work said it's something that I can more or less get used to. I still have about 2 weeks to decide if I should stick with this monster display, or spend a few hundred less and get the much smaller 27" 5K Dell...now that would have to run with both Thunderbolt ports....and Apple has said it is supported. This LG is brand new and even though I have seen images of it running on OSX...I had to be sure. Both Apple and LG said it would work....but I did get some confusing and conflicting info from both. I think I have it all sorted out though.