New Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by robrose20, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. robrose20 macrumors 6502

    robrose20

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    I have decided on a Mac Pro configuration:

    Mac Pro 2010 6-Core Westmere processor 3.33 Ghz.
    3 GB Ram (will upgrade with aftermarker memory)
    2 TB hard drive
    Dell U2711 (or possibly U2410) monitor, I hate the glossy ACD ... yeck.

    I plan to upgrade the memory to 8 GB with aftermarket ram, and install additional hard drives.

    My only question is: Does the graphics card have a standard DVI input or will I have to get the stupid mini-DVI to DVI converter cable?

    What do you guys think?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    According to Apple:
    from http://store.apple.com/us/configure/MC560LL/A?mco=MTg2OTUwMjQ

    Therefore there is no need for an additional adapter.
    Btw, Mini DVI has been phased out of the Mac line and has never been included with the Mac Pro, but I guess you meant Mini DisplayPort.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    http://www.apple.com/macpro/specs.html
     
  4. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    The graphics card has DVI - says so in the spec.

    Also it's Mini-DP, not Mini-DVI.
     
  5. reel2reel macrumors 6502a

    reel2reel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    I'm pretty sure you'll be able to connect directly to the Dual-Link DVI on the card. If not, you'll need a MiniDisplay Port to DVI cable.

    Word of warning, though: Some Dell Monitors are having driver issues with the 2010 Mac Pro's. My 30" gets distortions (snow) now and again. Some people are having sleep issues, also. Someday, maybe Apple will get around to patching this.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    The 5770 and the 5870 both have one normal dual link DVI port.
     
  7. robrose20 thread starter macrumors 6502

    robrose20

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #7
    Can you hook one monitor up to the dual link DVI port?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Yes, that is what it is there for. You can hook up a monitor with up to 2560 x 1600 pixel.
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    No, they just put it there to look pretty. :p

    (Yes, you can hook a monitor up to the DVI port...)
     
  10. robrose20 thread starter macrumors 6502

    robrose20

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #10
    ha ha...

    I went to the apple store and decided to downgrade my decision. For what I do, the base quad system is sufficient. I can't justify the extra $1000.00 for the processor upgrade. Also, I think I'll go with the ACD ... it really looks sharp. I just ordered 8 gb of ram and a 2 TB hd from OWC.

    For what I do this should be fine .... I'm not a pro, just basic home use, video editing, etc ....

    any thoughts?
     
  11. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #11
    You might want to get a SSD to use for your OS and apps, then use the 2TB hard drive to store your data.
     
  12. NeverhadaPC macrumors 6502

    NeverhadaPC

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #12
    Agree with ^ Buy an after market SSD for OS and Apps and use the 2 TB for photos and other data (music...)
     
  13. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #13
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    Remember that you can upgrade the CPU later on if you want to. W3680 goes for less than 900$ in eBay sometimes. The total price of the upgrade would be 600-700$, depending how much you can dell your W3530 for.
     
  15. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #15
    Have you considered upgrading the memory to 3x4Gb?
     
  16. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #16
    Can you hang on for Sandybridge?

    If you can wait a bit longer and save some more money the next gen Mac Pro could be a big upgrade to your prospective purchase.
    The only question is how long you will have to wait....
     
  17. rmitchell248 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Liebsthal, Germany
    #17
    is this not always the case year after year? At some point you gotta stop saving, buy a computer and get some work done.....
     
  18. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #18
    There's always something newer and better around the corner. Buy when you need it.
     
  19. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #19
    If is a big word.

    If you absotively, posalutely need it right now then ofc you will buy the current model. Mac Pro refresh cycles are averaging at 258 days. The current model is well past the mid point of that at 196 days so IF the OP has the ability to hang fire with his cheque book for 2 months more, a new model could be available and very much more future proof, thus extending his personal refresh cycle by an extra year possibly two. Just my 2cents. :D

    Apple deemed my 2008 Mac Pro obsolete the moment they unveiled the new 5xxx series AMD GFX cards and stated they were not supported, I will keep my 2008 octo till it dies then refresh, sod them.
     
  20. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #20
    I suspect that the next BIG refresh in the Mac Pro won't be until after Intel release the Xeon Sandybridge processors in Q4 2011. This is why I decided to just buy now rather than wait for a possible speed bump in Q2 2011. Buy it now and enjoy it now.
     
  21. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    The official release for suitable SB CPU's is in Q3/Q4 2011. I reckon we won't see a new Mac Pro this year. Given the last update cycle, a realistic release is Q1 2012, so buy now! It has never been safer to buy a Pro!
     
  22. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #22
    Fair enuff, if they are going to delay release of the server chips till Q4 then the refresh will be a long way off after all. :eek:
     
  23. jonnymo5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #23

    I did the same thing and I have no regrets. Plenty of room to upgrade and that sweet 6-core is only going to get cheaper. No sense buying computing power you don't need since by the time you need it the price will be much lower.
     
  24. MattDSLR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    I did the same thing
    I know i need faster that 2.4 but a year from now will be happy with adding 2 of the old 2.93 or what ever faster will be available for half price and I will be set for 3 more years after that when more multicore programs become available
    For now i'm happy with dual 2.4 much faster than my i5 27" iMac
    my lightroom, Aperture and Photoshop just runs amazing on 8 cores for now
     
  25. robrose20 thread starter macrumors 6502

    robrose20

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #25
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I need to buy now .... My g4 tower dies about 2 years ago and we have been using my MacBook pro as the sole computer... Not doing well ....
     

Share This Page