New Mac Pro's - Problems/No Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flyingscott, Jan 23, 2008.

?

How is your new Mac Pro running?

  1. Flawless... or just very minor issues

    78.9%
  2. Problems... have to consult with Apple

    21.1%
  1. flyingscott macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Poll Question...

    For those who have received the new Mac Pro. Who has been running flawlessly (or with very minor issues)...?

    And who has had problems...?

    and when I say problems, I mean big enough problems where you have to involve Apple.

    I just want to get an overall feel on the ratio of good to bad.
     
  2. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
  3. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    I've had none of the above problems.

    Incidentally, my Mac Pro was left to sleep the entire night without problems.
     
  4. _bnkr612 macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #4
    I would have checked flawless but, Airport not working properly has really cause a headache for me. We should expect this to be resolved by now, Apple.
     
  5. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #5
    I am most confident that it is one of the following...

    1. Bad Apple Hard Drive.
    2. Bay 1 not working right.
    3. A bad install of Leopard on the Apple drive, since it froze during install twice and had no problem installing on 3rd party drive.

    Could it typically be the "Bay" not working right? I just don't really want to lug this 40 pound paperweight to the store tonight if its just the Hard Drive. However, if my computer isn't frozen when I get home, then I have no idea what the problem could be. lol
     
  6. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #6
    Hey,dont be unreasonable.

    Apple has had only 19 moths to solve the problem.
    Dont be a whiner.


    In few of the old 06s there was exactly same problem of bay 1 not working/working poorly.
    Some were mobo issues and some were that the sata cabling at the back of the housing was poorly seated. Try to tinker/readjust the cabling there to see if it helps?
     
  7. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #7
    Interesting. I'll be bringing it to the Apple Store tonight only because it's a 5 minute drive. lol ... I just don't want them to hold onto the machine for a few days.
     
  8. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    Have you tried inserting the harddrive into another bay? Just to confirm.
     
  9. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #9
    I haven't. At this point, something is wrong with it, whether it's the hard drive, the bay, or the board. Shouldn't be doing what it's doing. Gonna take it to Apple and let them see what's up. No biggy. I just need this system up and running, way behind on things now.
     
  10. zdobson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #10
    I have the stock octo 2.8 w/ airport and no problems here whatsoever. I'm about ready for some more RAM, but that's it. It's a helluva lot better than my Powerbook G4!
     
  11. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #11
    Pretty much okay, just the same machine lockup while using Safari that darthraige was having.
     
  12. donharriss macrumors newbie

    donharriss

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    #12
    I got mine on the 9th. It's flawless, I love it. Absolutely worth the wait (June):cool:
     
  13. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #13
    Jealous of you. lol
     
  14. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #14
    NOT A SINGLE PROBLEM. EVERYTHING WORKING BEAUTIFULLY!

    And when ever it's on it has been stressed to the max using Seti!
     
  15. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    I had that strange problem where it awoke to a restart, but FSCK -fy fixed that.
     
  16. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #16
    Would love to fix that problem too. Did you just enter that in Terminal? Or did another program fix it?
     
  17. flyingscott thread starter macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #17
    Sorry for the few that have had problems, but the initial indications look good.
     
  18. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

    ErikAndre

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    The stats look good, sure... but man... it sucks when its you with the bad apple from the group.
     
  19. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #19
    I'm having a huge problem with my new Mac Pro: Apple hasn't shipped it yet. :)
     
  20. cliffrouse11bas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #20
    I have been having problems with the restart issue and have fixed it twice but its kinda like a bad cold it just keeps coming back.
     
  21. donharriss macrumors newbie

    donharriss

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    #21
    Yea, I've been following your other thread - 'hope it gets sorted soon ( and painlessly).
     
  22. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #22
    Weird............... I have the same exact problem!

    :p
     
  23. jaglad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    Royston, UK
    #23
    Well I received my Mac Pro Monday, tonight has been my first chance to use it properly, I have to say so far it is performing flawlessly. I am really impressed with the speed, not only that it is SOOOO quiet. I thought my Dual 2.7 Powermac was quiet but this is on a different scale, I would say it is as nearly as quiet as my imac.

    Considering the Mac Pro only has 2Gb of Ram it is really quick, I cant wait to upgrade it to get even more performance out of it. I did a test earlier, I converted a film in Handbrake for my iPhone, first I did it on my Powermac with 4.5Gb Ram and that took about 2 hours to convert, on this beast of a machine the same film and the same settings took only 10 Minutes and only used 70% combined processing power! Quite a speed increase I am sure you will agree, it is also good to see the processors averaging around 30 degrees compared to 70 on the Powermac, all in all I am well impressed!!
     
  24. Mercuric Oxide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    I can't verify or repair permissions.

    The bar immediately goes halfway and says 1 min remaining, and hangs there until I stop it.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  25. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #25
    Well, just had machine lockuup number 3 again while using Safari. Just downloaded FireFox to see if that changes anything. Had to do a hard shutdown/restart. Sucks.
     

Share This Page