New Macbook for development

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by cis4life, Mar 22, 2015.

1. cis4life macrumors regular

Hello,

I currently have a maxed out rMBP (my work sponsored machine). I'm a software developer (Objective C / Swift, PHP and Java and .NET via VM). I want to build a few projects on my own, and prefer to do it on my own machine, So i'm going to buy a new mac. I was initially going for a 13 inch rMBP but I keep finding myself looking at the new MB. I know the rMBP will do exactly what I want, but I LOVE the design, weight of the new MB, but don't know if the processor can handle what I want to do (Swift, PHP, Java and .NET Development). I'm not designing games, basically service sites and mobile apps. and I will need to run a Windows VM (VMWare Fusion) to run Visual Studio when I do .NET development.

What are your thoughts of the new MB as a dev machine. I'm not one of those ppl saying "ohhh everything else is SOO heavy now", but more less just like the look of the new MB and that it is ultra portable, but questioning if it can do what I need it to ultimately do.

Your Thoughts?

2. ByteTheBooty macrumors regular

Personally, Im not sure it could handle everything that you do...From what i heard, you seem to need more performance. I dont know if you should get it, but I do know is that you definitely should wait for some reviews and try it out before buying and see if it handle ur load..

I think that next year, apple is going to update the Pros with the new keyboard and probably a newer design that is thinner so if you can wait, you'll maybe get the best of both world...of course, i doubt the Pro will ever be as ultraportable as the rMB..

good luck

3. gregvet macrumors regular

gregvet