New Macbook Late 2008 Supports up to 8gb ram

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by YOKOJP, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. YOKOJP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #1
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Don't have the new MacBooks the NVIDIA chipset instead of the Montevina one?
    Apple just took the new processor, and let NVIDIA do the rest.

    Strange.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    New Aluminum MacBooks use Nvidia 9400M chipset which has the same characteristics of Montevenia (DDR3, 1066MHz FSB and Penryn support); however, the 9400M chipset is according to Apple and Nvidia able to support better graphcs with 5x speed increase over Intel's X3100 Integrated graphics.

    That aside, Nvidia has officially announced that their chipset 9400M allows and supports 8GB of Ram successfully; however, Mac OS X only sees and addresses 6GB. Beyond 8GB there are problems. This however, is for the MacBook Pro. Since the MacBook is a little less than the Pro it means that also the MacBook is confined to 6GB tops in Ram.

    So, you can put 8GB ram, doesn't mean it'll work right. However, why would you need 8GB Ram besides to run a Virtual machine? Running 6GB isn't useful as that kills Dual channel for video encoders. So stick to 4GB, I'm sure Apple will later in the future allow for 8GB to supporting chipsets. If not, 4GB is more than plenty right now.
     
  4. YOKOJP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #4
    thanks for clearing that up.
     
  5. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Have you tried finding a price for 4GB DDR3 sodimms - try $400 each !!!!!
     
  6. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #6
  7. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #7
    6GB works; 8GB don't

    I installed two 4GB modules in my 'late 08' MBP 2.8 today. As with the 'early 2008' MBP, it will see and use all 8GB for apps, but goes into molasses mode when you exceed 4GB of real memory usage. And it won't release the memory even if you can get the "greedy" app(s) to quit.

    But when I put one 4G + one 2G module for a total of 6GB, it is happy as a clam. Everything runs fast and the full 6GB is accessible. And it releases the memory when you quit the app(s).

    Now the 6GB config means you lose the dual-channel support -- no matching modules. I plan to run some memory benchmarks to see just how much is lost but I bet you'll need a stopwatch to tell the difference.
     
  8. Minimoose 360 macrumors 65816

    Minimoose 360

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    NY
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Yeah, I imagined 8GB a pain on new MacBooks. However, if the loss of Dual Channel is not big, I might just buy one of those 4GB modules....

    PS - Alu MacBooks are simple beautiful machines that are happy with 2GB for the average user.
     
  10. CaptainCaveMann macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #10
    OLD NEWS

    And NO it does not. It's been confirmed.
     
  11. dal20402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #11
    That "average user" better not want to use Fusion or Parallels Desktop.

    4GB is the minimum for acceptable performance in both OSes using those products. 6GB gives better breathing room.

    The lack of RAM capacity is the most infuriating thing about current notebooks. I'm more than an "average user," but I'm hardly the most demanding user on earth -- and I could use 12GB if the notebook could accept it.
     
  12. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Same here. I would be happy with 8GB since I virtualize Vista. 4GB is not acceptable I agree seeing as Desktops already are at 8GB cheaply. I think Laptops and Desktops should be parred in memory.

    I would like to see 6GB in mine (I would pay for that; however, I want to see how much I lose in speed due to Dual Channels loss)

    As my first post stated, 6GB is where our beloved MacBooks will top (including MBPs)
     
  13. iMav macrumors 6502

    iMav

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, WI
    #13
    another heavy virtualization user here (although VirtualBox is my virtualization software of choice).

    I'd LOVE 8GB in my MacBook.
     
  14. fr4b3lo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #14
    Works' 2010

    Hello,

    Nowadays (new OLD macbook pro) can resist all the 8GB RAM. Works fine in my MacBook pro 15" 2.4 GHZ (late 2008). I saw many others sites report problems with 6GB but doesn't matter. I have snow leopard 10.6 (without upgrades) and 8GB running with software test (Rember) and real "digital" tasks (more than 20 progs open and executing somethings) that comprove that system running over 6 GB RAM "used".

    For me works fine and i bought 256 GB ssd (corsair) to put my flying saucers. Its like a new, no?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #15
    That's because you're not using a full 8GB. See how it says you only have 7.75GB of total ram?
     
  16. fr4b3lo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #16
    In Abouth this mac said that i has 8 GB and anyform works more than 6 GB.
     
  17. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #17
    7.75GB is available to the system because .25GB (256MB) is being used by the 9400M integrated graphics chip.
     
  18. fr4b3lo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #18
    This happen if i use the 9600 or 9400. Dont change if i change the integrated or another. I'ts correct?
    I saw another Thread that discuss this here.
     
  19. mrmeister macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    #19
    what can i do?

    I have the 15" late 2008 model (the last 15" model to have the Express 34 slot instead of the SD card).
    Can I upgrade to 8GB, and if not, can I upgrade to 6GB?
     
  20. junknstuff, Nov 7, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2010

    junknstuff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #20
    somewhat bring this back from the dead...

    is your system still running OK with the 8gb memory? any issues arise?

    would you be able to list your setup? reason i ask is because i've seen a few reports as yours confirming 8gb but both cases were for mid-high range mbp's of late 2008.

    would like to know where your system falls into.

    mine is 2.66ghz (mid-range) late 2008..i have 8gb coming int his week and i'l be testing with rember as well, but wanted a comparison :)

    thanks!

    *edit*
    i made a mistake. i seem to be part of the early 2009 crowd which means i very well may be OK with 8gb.

    if you could punch in the last 3 or 4 of your serial and post up which you have, that would really help out the community.

    here's the "ultimate mac lookup": http://www.everymac.com/ultimate-mac-lookup/

    these are my specs: http://www.everymac.com/systems/app....66-aluminum-15-early-2009-unibody-specs.html
     
  21. mooshy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #21

    Hi there, I really really really want to upgrade my Late 2008 Macbook pro 2.8ghz from 4gb RAM to 8gb, can you or anyone else who has already upgraded to 8gb let me know if everything worked out fine? have you had any problems, crashes etc? Have you tested using the 8gb in bootcamp windows? Please let me know. Much appreciated!
     
  22. vr4playa macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #22
    Looking forward to these results as well considering I just got a late '08 MB Unibody with the P8600(2.4GHz C2D) and I'm only running 2GB, then again, I haven't done anything too intense yet, aside from running VMFusion- 10.6.4 and XP at the same time.

    My last 4 is V8QT
     
  23. happle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #23
    im cold as well. my friends apt doesn't have heat. 59F brrrr
     
  24. junknstuff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #24
    hey fellas. i'm still running strong on 8gb of memory without any faults :D

    the whole idea of my upgrading to 8gb was so that i could run windows7 pro in a VM (parallels, in this case) along with a few others (2 linux distros).

    i haven't actually tried to boot into windows directly...which i suppose i can try sometime this week and get back to you :p
     
  25. m3kw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #25
    Did it work?

    Did it work or what?! Bootcamp with 8gig ram late 2008 macbook pro.
     

Share This Page