New MacBook now or after WWDC?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wowoah, May 15, 2008.

1. wowoah macrumors regular

Hi! I need to get a new MacBook for the bar exam in July (the exam software doesn't run on PPC Macs), but I've heard there's a possibility of a hardware update or refresh at WWDC in a couple weeks. What are the chances of that? I'd like to buy ASAP so I can get it all set up before my bar courses start, but I'm willing to wait a couple weeks for a better machine.

So what do you all think? Buy now or wait til WWDC?

Thanks!

2. Aranince macrumors 65816

I doubt they will update the Macbooks at WWDC, because that's more for developers, and all the attention will be for iPhone. I'm thinking they will updated sometime either this month or towards the end of next month.

3. morrisman1 macrumors 6502

no updates

im no professional predicter but i wouldnt expect to see any updates untill monteniva is released. what can they update? they wouldnt add more ram because theres now plenty of that, the processors are pretty close to macbook pro levels so wouldnt want to upgrade them, a case upgrade would be a waste of time without a hardware upgrade, dedicated graphics arent gonig to see the macbook and certainly not before the design update. they are pretty damn good units at the moment and most the creases have been ironed out after their introduction in 2006.

i expect the next upgrade to have
    ~led backlight on the screen
    ~monteniva processor
    ~a descent integrated graphics chip (like the lastest onboard from nvidia)
    ~case redesign
    ~multitouch trackpad
    ~thinner form factor
    ~no bluray
    ~thinner bezel on the screen

4. MattZani macrumors 68030

MattZani

I would say there is no harm in waiting until after wwdc, and by then the free iPod deal will be on, and you will still have a month to get used to software, but if you need as much time as possible, buy a blackbook now, its a very good machine.