New macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jordan eff, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. jordan eff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    well today after having alot of trouble with 2 previous aluminum imacs i purchased a unibody macbook pro

    I am looking for any tips and suggestions to get the best out of my macbook and keep it running fast and smooth
    any tips are much appreciated

    thanks
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    If it isn't already, suggest maxing out the RAM. Also, looking for an SSD is a good option as you get much better performance.
     
  3. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #3
    Thanks but i was meaning software wise etc, i don't have much luck even doing simple ram upgrades
     
  4. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #4
    download Onyx

    http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/system_disk_utilities/onyx.html

    it does maintenance on your computer. clears cache, repairs disc permissions. it also has some pretty cool options such as developer's mode that allows you to use widgets on the regular desktop.
     
  5. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
  6. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #6
    VLC is a great video player.

    i like google earth.

    if you do bittorrent the best application i have used is Vuze. but transmission works great as well.

    i will post them as i think of them.
     
  7. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #7
    thanks again

    I have adobe photoshop CS for mac and for some reason after i install it an error message appears saying files are missing and i must reinstall photoshop but no matter how many times i install it i get the same message, any idea what the problem is
     
  8. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #8
    hate to ask this but is it a legal copy. send your response to me via private message if it isnt. other wise it could be that it needs an update. the same thing happened to me with pro logic. turned out that i needed to download an update for it.
     
  9. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #9
    no itslegal

    it didn't work on my previous imac either
     
  10. James Cole macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #10
    SSD apparently will make night and day difference...
     
  11. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #11
    if a file is missing which it sounds like it is it doesnt matter what kind of hard drive he has.

    i would contact Adobe and see what they say.
     
  12. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #12
    i just had a thought

    i read about people doing fresh installs on the MBP so they can choose to leave out some unnecessary things like fonts and languages, is it possible to install from the OS X CD so that the current os is erased and the new one can be installed and what things would people recommend thats I leave out so I have more HD space etc

    thanks
     
  13. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #13
    just wondering, can i delete the user guides in the HD, the ones that tell you all about the macbook(same as the instruction manuel you get in the box) and the one thats called Meet Leopard, its 132mb that i could use for something else :D

    thanks
     
  14. pyroo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #14
    you can try to download "xslimmer" and get rid of any unused languages in all your apps...i saved 5GB worth of space by slimming down existing apps.

    and max out ram!! it makes a lot of difference when you open a lot of programs

    and for bittorent, i suggest using transmission because it uses so little memory.....but if your ISP throttles your torrent downloads, you'd have to use Vuze, which is also good, but uses a lot more resources
     
  15. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #15
    yea it does. it makes all but 400MB of inactive. not quite sure why it does this. the only way i can get back the 5GB of inactive memory is to restart my computer. anyone know why this happens with Vuze?
     
  16. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #16
    I plan on doing a fresh install in the future so I can cut out some of the fonts and unused languages, so like i said is it safe to delete those user guides :D
     
  17. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #17
    did you get CS4 to work?
     
  18. jordan eff thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008

Share This Page