Resolved New Nvidia Web Driver has my 1080 TI's working in HS 10.13. Sort of...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dr. Stealth, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. Dr. Stealth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #26
    Agreed. The last thing I ever want to see is a 'glitch' during an install. It's usually all downhill from there... =)
     
  2. namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #27
    Glad you figured this out. Why did you Disable SIPS in the the first place? And, does enabling SIP, even if it fixes your issue described here, leave the other thing you needed to do to disable SIPS in a conundrum?
     
  3. Dr. Stealth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #28
    I need to disable SIP occasionally for some programs to work properly. One is WinClone. It's easy to disable SIP do what you need to do and then re-enable SIP. I've heard that there is no reason to have SIP enabled and that it won't cause any problems if you leave it disabled. But I found that's not the case.
     
  4. ctrlzone macrumors regular

    ctrlzone

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
  5. chris1111 macrumors newbie

    chris1111

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Montréal Canada
    #30
    The real thing is the Package NVIDIA 10.13 HS haves a flag for the SIP in the preinstall script
    see this is the same message in the Popup

    [​IMG]

    End of script

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #31
    Right, it very clearly looks like the installer needs SIP enabled for it to work correctly. Gatekeeper appears to do something to the binaries to make them allowed to be loaded when you hit "Allow" in the Security preferences. If SIP is disabled, that step is done done by the OS, and thus the driver might not load properly.

    I don't think you need to have SIP enabled after you've successfully installed the driver, it should be fine to go back to disabling whatever parts of SIP you need to.
     
  7. Horselover Fat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #32
    Let me chime in to tell you all that I solved this problem by walking in the exact opposite direction. And yet without this thread I couldn't have solved it.

    Since upgrading my 4,1->5,1 (flashed GTX 680, 2GB) to HS I had the exact same bug. When using the web driver dragging windows caused exactly the mess shown by the OP. And on top of it GUI animations were horribly chunky. Whenever I installed a web new driver, the installation didn't show any error. However, the result was always the same mess on screen, so I stayed with the default driver of macOS.

    Then I came across this thread, checked SIP and realized it was enabled. Then I disabled it, installed the latest nvidia driver (again no hassles here), restarted and the bug is gone with the web driver working perfectly.

    Is that weird?
     
  8. Horselover Fat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #33
    Also: SIP has to stay disabled, otherwise the bug is back. :(
    What's worse? To have SIP disabled or to keep using the default driver?
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #34
    May I know the details on how to reproduce any bug? The iBook one seems fixed just before I buy my 1080Ti. And I tried to resize an image in Photoshop to a ridiculous size with OpenCL on (see attachment), but still no error / crash / bug.
    Screen Shot 2017-12-03 at 04.34.06.jpg
     
  10. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #35
    I for some reason can't select open cl in photoshop. I can't say I am hugely worried about it but for whatever reason it wont let me. Photoshop seems to be using my card (Quadro p4000) purely in open GL.

    I am feeling really weird as now that I am using the Nvidia Web Driver on a non flashed PC card I was actually expecting issues based on all the posts on here but honestly if it wasn't for the lack of a boot screen you would just think I was using the stock apple drivers. No issues at all.
     
  11. fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #36
    Exactly. No bugs! I feel like the Web driver is actually better than Apple's driver.

    I feel like with all the nay-sayers that I was watching Monty Python's The Meaning of Life whilst still trying to look for the fish.

    And I still cannot find the fish, so I'm tired of looking for it. :)
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #37
    More or less the same feeling. My experience with the 7950 is OK, but far from flawless. Even not counting the shuttering bug that basically only affect the 7950 Mac Editing card. But Maverick has poor OpenGL performance, Yosemite has Safari Micro Freeze, El Capitan has Finder freeze... R9 380 work flawless from my memory, but it cap the screen refresh rate at 120Hz on my CHG90. And now, the 1080Ti not just flawless so far, but also enabled 144Hz. So, it work best up to this moment.

    Especially now I know that we can upgrade the OS and web driver without EFI / remote control / assist from other GPU. It's virtually the same as the OOTB GPUs. The only difference I can tell at this moment is that I can't use the GUI recovery partition (single user recovery partition still available).
     

Share This Page