New Open Office Alpha (X11 not needed)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by swiftaw, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #1
  2. grafikat macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #2
    I just use Neo Office, which doesn't require it either. (neooffice.com)
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    OpenOffice - X11 > NeoOffice

    There seems to be something wrong with the torrent, I'm getting an error saying something about Zero Length

    The direct download link, I assume, is getting hammered as i can't get it there either.
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    no, neooffice is like openoffice with a different cloth, while ooffice aqua is probably more deeper than that.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    That is what I was saying, otherwise I would have used "="
     
  6. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Download does not work at all... I guess there are too many people interested in it ;)
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    omg, i must have been mis-read that, sorry:D
     
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    No worries mate I have often missed read things.


    Still haven't managed to get it downloaded.

    I'm getting the following error with Azureus
     

    Attached Files:

  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    not sure if its too busy or the downloaded torrent file is corrupted, .... if the problem persists, maybe wait couple of hours and re-download that torrent file
     
  10. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
  11. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #11
    Thanks for the link, on the dl now.
     
  12. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #12
    Okay. At the moment it's pretty much completely unusable, but it's nice to see it up and running, albeit shakily, after all these years.
     
  13. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    FWIW It's now working fine.
     
  14. Fillado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    #14
    Once the OpenOffice.org team have fully stabilised the Aqua version it'll better than NeoOffice, since it won't rely on Java and will keep up with the current versions for other systems :)
     
  15. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    its looking good but they kept the applications locked together like neooffice i prefer the ms office way of keeping all the applications seperated with there own icons and stuff.
     
  16. hidehide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    #16
    Nice.. I have been waiting for this a long time :)
     
  17. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #17
    How is this better than NeoOffice exactly? Seems like this is a very preliminary release whereas NeoOffice has several releases behind it? Isn't NeoOffice also built from OpenOffice?
     
  18. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #18
    NeoOffice uses Java for the interface. This slows the program down considerably. If OOo integrates Aqua directly into the project it will be faster and never behind in a release.

    What Fillado said:

     
  19. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    This has been discussed a lot before, but...

    1) NeoOffice is a project which pulls a version of OOo and then does a port. This means there is an intrinsic delay between the release of a new OOo and a version of Neo that subsumes all new features therein. That's the big one. That also means that Neo provides for the Mac community but keeps the Mac community from having a prominent seat at the table in deciding OOo's direction.

    2) Depending on how the OOo port to OS X is, it may be less resource intensive or quicker in some aspects. If you compare Neo to OOo running on a different OS (e.g. if you dual boot Ubuntu and OS X on a Mac and run Neo on OS X and OOo on Ubuntu), I think OOo is generally quite a bit faster on given hardware than Neo is. Enough so that it's speculated that some of the tradeoffs the Neo team made slow it down. Particulaly, initial load tends to be really long with apps that use a Java codebase.
     
  20. younker macrumors member

    younker

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #20
    doesn't support seperator application, doesn't support input method active with Apple-space, doesn't show Chinese font name correctly.

    Lots of work to be done.

    go on.
     
  21. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    Doesn't seem to understand what developers mean when they call a release an "Alpha?" ;)
     
  22. macridah macrumors 6502a

    macridah

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal
    #22
    Anyone have screenshots? Please Post. Thx in advance.
     
  23. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #23
    Interested in anything in particular?

    Here is a selection
     

    Attached Files:

  24. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #24
    Thank you for the screen grabs - I'm definitely looking forward to this being released!
     
  25. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #25
    As stated in my previous post if you want to see anything in particular, as long as i can find it I will take a screenshot and post it here.
     

Share This Page