New Powerbook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #1
    I'm absolutely thrilled to bits to get this! After much bemoaning how PPC prices are getting ridiculous now, I managed to score this for £50. It's the 667Mhz model (alas not the DVI version), 1 Gb RAM, Airport, DVD and best of all, a new battery plus an unopened spare still in it's wrapper! There's only a little paint missing but no cracks and the hinges are intact. The hard drive is the stock original and sounds a bit creaky but I'm fine with that.
    I've installed OS 9.2.2 only for the moment...I may fit in Tiger at some point.
    Some photos if you're interested:
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      165.8 KB
      Views:
      28
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      206.6 KB
      Views:
      25
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      156.4 KB
      Views:
      25
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      167 KB
      Views:
      26
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      222.3 KB
      Views:
      39
  2. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #2
    ...and more..
     

    Attached Files:

    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      189.1 KB
      Views:
      93
    • 7.jpg
      7.jpg
      File size:
      184.8 KB
      Views:
      29
    • 8.jpg
      8.jpg
      File size:
      200.1 KB
      Views:
      26
    • 9.jpg
      9.jpg
      File size:
      161 KB
      Views:
      25
    • 10.jpg
      10.jpg
      File size:
      235.3 KB
      Views:
      22
  3. gooser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Very nice! I love TiBooks and yours is very nice. They are my favorite OS9 laptop.
     
  5. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #5
    Thanks :) This will be my first 'indulgent' Mac - that is I bought it purely to have rather than use - I couldn't resist given the price and condition. I'm just toying with downgrading my router to WEP security now so it can do wireless too!
     
  6. gooser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    #6
    you'll find a use for it. i thought that i bought my cube "just to have" and i found a use for it.
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    I thought that too for the first few PPC Macs I bought. 40 some later, I find that there are some that just really have no purpose...

    It hasn't slowed me down any, though
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Shhhhhhh!!!!! Don't SAY that!!! My wife might hear you and there goes any justification I have for owning more than one Mac at all!!!

    :D:D:D
     
  9. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #9
    Some? If only...

    So, it is not just me, then.
     
  10. Blackomen macrumors newbie

    Blackomen

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    US
  11. PerformaGuy macrumors member

    PerformaGuy

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #11
    Amazing! I'd love to locate a brand new never opened iBook Clamshell. :)
     
  12. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #12
    I have same model (DVI one) but no where as nice cond.

    If you install tiger and then use leopardassist you can install Leopard.

    Believe it or not but Leopard runs better then Tiger or in fact OS 9 on these Ti's! In fact it run's fairly well!

    note: My testing was done with newer 2012 60gig ide drive...

    note: If you do install Leopard after doing all the updates you will need to find and dl quicktime 770 in order for itunes 10.6.3 to work...I also rec you use webkite (Im using stable 537 ver) over tenfourfox as it simple runs better on these machines...I would also rec you run uninstall flashplayer osx 10.4 (yes right ver to uninstall on leopard)
     
  13. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #13
    Yours has 1Mb L3 cache, the VGA model has no L3 - I suspect that's why yours handles Leopard so well. Your newer hard drive helps too - I had a 667 DVI years ago and put a 7200RPM disk into it - it was a huge improvement!
     
  14. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #14
    I'd recommend getting an old Apple Airport and connecting that to your router, so you can broadcast a second Wi-Fi network as WEP for your old devices without needing to mingle with your main network.
     
  15. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    I was using a original Time Capsule via ethernet with my FIOS router, I just setup a WEP wireless network for my classic Macs. I hide the wireless ID.
     
  16. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #16
    I was just about to ask a question about that very thing - looks like that's the way to go.
     
  17. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #17
    There is little point in hiding SSIDs or restricting access to specific MAC addresses. These are very easily sniffed and spoofed. If someone is intent on breaking into your WEP network it is going to happen regardless. Your best bet is to limit the range of your WEP network and hope there are enough unsecured networks blaring away nearby to attract the freeloaders and the curious.

    You could try using something like Netgear's Universal WiFi adapter if you don't mind something hanging off your Powerbook. One USB port is enough to power it and you will get WPA2 security plus 802.11n speeds.
     
  18. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #18
    As far as I know, though, that won't work in OS 9-the only WiFi option really is an Airport or Airport-compatible card and WEP security.

    Otherwise, for OS X use, I use an Airport Extreme compatible 802.11g PCMCIA card that can connect to WPA/WPA2 networks in 10.4 and later. Even though this does leave a black box hanging out of the side of the computer, it's a bit more secure than a USB dongle and I think probably faster than 802.11n over a USB 1.1 port.
     
  19. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #19
    Correct. IIRC you need OS X 10.3 or later for WPA support.

    I've got an old router re-configured as an AP with an early version of WPA for Tiger on the PowerBook. It gets turned on when it's needed. I refuse to step back to WEP as it's ridiculously easy to crack, and as weckart says MAC filtering and "hiding" the SSID is ineffective.

    My OS9 "solution" is to use a Wireless Signal booster I got sent by my ISP (http://www.sky.com/products/kit/wireless-booster). It doubles up as a Wireless bridge (an unadvertised feature), so I can cable it to the Ethernet port and get N speeds and WPA 2 encryption.
     
  20. iModFrenzy, Mar 14, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2015

    iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #20
    Those N speeds won't matter if your using a 1.1 USB port :p

    EDIT: Didnt wanna double post.

    Also wanted to say that TiBook makes me jealous :)
     
  21. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #21
    Wow thats the exact model of my first mac, so jealous right now. Mine died sadly due to logic board failure.
     
  22. A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #22
    Looks good!

    I'd like to upgrade the HD in mine as well. The 5200/5400rpm or whatever it is feel slow. Especially in that I've had SSD's in my laptops for the past 3 years or so.

    £50 = $74. I spent $65 ($90-25 refund due to undisclosed issues) on my 1ghz/512mb model with shipping. The case condition seems pretty compatible, it looks like we both have one minor imperfection that stands out but most of these guys are in terrible shape. My guy's LCD is splotchy and needs a new battery. I ordered a replacement keyboard due to a broken #2 key. It looks like you got a good deal though. A sealed battery is a nice surprise. A RAM upgrade is on my radar as well, you're lucky to have the max.
     
  23. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #23
    ??? It is OS independent. All of the software is in the WiFi unit and configured through a browser.

    The USB supplies the power, nothing more. Data goes through the Ethernet port. I think you are fine up to and beyond 802.11ac given that that has yet to saturate a Gigabit port.

    Smaller versions of this sort of thing are available, I believe, so about as intrusive as a conventional WiFi dongle.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #24
    The 1Ghz model was what I'd been looking out for but hadn't seen any lately. I'm sure that model, especially with the 1Mb L3 cache flies on OS9 - that's my only gripe with my purchase, the lack of L3...but I knew what to expect and I'm happy anyhow.
     
  25. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #25
    It's a Wi-Fi bridge then, similar idea to that Sky thing I'm using. No reason you can't plug it in to a switch and run multiple devices off it.
     

Share This Page