New Router = Sudden Increase in Download Speeds

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hakr100, Dec 4, 2013.

  1. hakr100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #1
    Got a new Netgear router yesterday, the R6300v2 with 1750 ac Dual Band, and realized a significant gain in internet download and upload speeds on my iPhone 5S over WiFi.

    With my previous "g" and "n" wireless router, the best download speed I ever attained was about 20 Mbps. The new router almost tripled that, and I was two floors away from the device in a three story frame house.

    I didn't change any settings and I have duplicated the test a couple of times. I don't know whether this is a big deal, but it seemed so to me. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #2
    20 is more than enough for mobile device functions, and even HD video.

    That's not surprising, a G router will max around 20-22mbps at the application layer.
     
  3. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
  4. MarvelouzV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #4
    good stuff, maybe i should try that too. my wifi never goes past 23 mb/s
     
  5. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    It's Comcast. I actually don't know what the "rated" speed is. I called once to find out, and the non-English-speaking support gal give me four or five different answers. :D

    ----------

    If you get this particular router, the supplied name for the second WiFi channel will not work with your 5S unless you change its name. Dunno why.

    I called Netgear about this and with a good tech guy we explored and discovered that we had to change the Name (SSID) of the 5GHz network and that let us connect successfully to my iPhone5S.
     
  6. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #6
    I bought the same router. After installation my download was 95, which is smokin'
     
  7. Sparticu$ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #7

    I recently purchased the Netgear Nighthawk "R7000" and it's a beast. I get wifi everywhere even at my neighbors house.
     
  8. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #8
    With that kind of speed, I have a dumb question... your webpages shows INSTANTLY correct?
     
  9. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #9
    Nope.

    It really makes a big difference in things like movie downloads, VOIP, FaceTime, etc. Most web pages have a pretty small amount of content and the time is take up by overhead. I can dowload an 8gb movie in 10-15 minutes, but MacRumors is no faster than ever.
     
  10. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #10
    ping is much more important than download speed in that regard.
     
  11. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #11
    Here's a screen shot of how my *wired* iMac does...pretty much the same as the WiFi connected iPhone but with only 9 ms of PING.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Daytona 360 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #12
    I had a similar experience with an older router (Linksys WRT610N).

    I had 25/5 before with Comcast, and my router gives me 22/5 over WiFi, which I thought was perfectly normal.

    Then Comcast upgraded the speed for all plans, and I got switched to 50/10. I reset my cable modem, and ran the speed test again. Still shows 22/5 over WiFi. I called Comcast and they said my apartment building has old wiring, and probably that's why. I didn't push for a further explanation.

    A couple months back there were deals on cable modems (I was (stupidly) renting one from Comcast). I bought my own, and went to set it up. During the setup I need to plug my laptop directly to the cable modem. After the modem is installed I ran a speed test.

    I got 50/10.

    I was like "?!". I immediately setup my WiFi router again, and connect my laptop to WiFi. Ran a speed test and it showed 25/5. I plug my laptop to the router directly and I got 50/10.

    So I am pretty sure the WiFi is causing the speed drop. I was using custom firmware (DD-WRT) on the Linksys and I thought I need a newer firmware, but I decided to tweak the WiFI settings a bit first.

    [Disclaimer: Tweaking WiFi setting on your router improperly can cause performance decrease and dropped connections. Loading a custom firmware on your modem can turn your modem into a brick if you are not careful. You have been warned.]

    I tried turning up the TX power on the antenna, increase the channel width, manually set the transmit rate. None helped.

    Then I noticed one setting in the help file:

    Frame Burst
    The default value is Disabled. Frame burst allows packet bursting which will increase overall network speed though this is only recommended for approx 1-3 wireless clients, Anymore clients and there can be a negative result and throughput will be affected.


    I turned the setting on, and I got 50/10 over WiFi. I usually don't have a lot of WiFi clients on at the same time, so that worked out for me. My guess is your new Netgear R6300 has frame burst enabled, or they have come up with a better implementation of the TX/RX algorithms.
     
  13. iWooz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #13
    Wow, that's some impressing speed. What's your connection technology? My DSL doesn't offer more than 16MBps...
     
  14. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #14
    Is FaceTime like crystal clear, 60 fps quality? Assuming the other side also on high speed.
     
  15. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #15
    Dunno anything about FaceTime...don't use it, never will.
     
  16. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #16
    As I said above, I bought the same router. I attached a screen shot of my wired speeds and a screen shot of the speed tests done on my phone using the speedtest app.

    The 101.60 and 97.51 shows how much apple has tweaked the 'N' download speed on the 5S. The 55.39 is LTE and the remainder is wireless 'G'.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #17
    Are you invoking any special settings on the router? Those are fantastic speeds.
     
  18. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #18
    I have Ultra 101, which I get consistently high speedtest numbers. I didn't tweak the router...however...

    I downloaded and used the Genie app on my laptop, which obviously has a wireless connection. I chose a channel for N and G that was free from my neighbors. Obviously my neighbors used the default settings as I was able to find an empty N channel.

    On the 5ghz channel I used 157, which was empty and set the speed to 600 since I don't have an AC card. On the 2.4 ghz channel I set the speed to 217. I also enabled 20/40 coexistence on the router, which is important. And although I'm sure you know this using WPA2-PSK(AES) yields the best speed and the most security.

    I also disabled router's pin, which has nothing to do with the speeds. All other settings are basic stock.

    The speedtest was a little cooked in that I stacked the cards by being 10 feet from the router and not "across the street". But it does show that apple really tweaked the performance of the 5ghz band.
     
  19. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #19
    Wireless can achieve similar latency, pings, e.g.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. rlb4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #20
    Does it just have to be changed to anything other than the default name? Can the 5s connect to the 5 GHz frequency?
     
  21. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #21
    That's a commercial connection right? Not some residential service?.. That's crazy.
     
  22. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #22
    Yes, just change it to anything other than the default. I renamed the channel NetgearSuperFast.

    The 5S connects just fine to the faster channel.
     
  23. rlb4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #23
    So I could name it 5G and then manually connect to it like any other hidden SSID?
     
  24. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #24
    No, that's my home connection.

    Tennessee. $50/mo = fiber 100/100mbps.

    edit:; not 50. Thought 50 for internet only, maybe used to be. $128 TV+HBO+100/100 package.

    ----------

    An extra $12-20/mo gets 1000/1000... but what's the point *shrug*.
     
  25. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #25
    lol that is depressing I don't want to talk about my home connection that I pay the same amount for.
     

Share This Page